Snippets from a Spiritual Seeker, Weds pm, 8/26

[chincoteague, Virginia – one in a serious of journal entries from my escape to the beach for three days to find… something other than the craziness I was feeling in Baltimore…]

Weds pm Snippet –

Murphy’s Law. If one is trying to get to the beach before the sun sets and one is already running late, be prepared for pitfalls that will delay one further. Good news: I did make it to the beach while it was still light. More good news: they serve real butter on the popcorn at the little movie theatre in Chincoteague. I know this because the usher/projectionist/not sure what he really does at the movie theatre other than buy butter for the popcorn was in line behind me buying about 12 boxes of butter sticks. Seemed likely an extraordinarily high number of butter boxes, so I of course, had to chat with him to find out what he was making. Popcorn.

In the meantime, the cashier rang some of his butter up with my food since all the different food items merged together on the conveyor belt. That took several minutes to correct my total.

More good news: if the Park Service cop pulls you over for going 37 in the 25 mph zone which is essentially all of Chincoteague and Assateague, this does not necessarily mean that you will get a citation. Maybe a gentle chiding. But no tickee. No laundry either.

Truth be told, I did try to talk him out of a ticket shortly after he pulled me over. I mean, I was sobbing spontaneously at just about anything the day before and needed to run to the beach for the week. I told him that. I also do have a friend who was pulled aside at Ocean City a week ago and got out of her car harmlessly to give the cop something and was immediately tasered for no good reason, and ended up on the nightly news. I informed the cop all of this while I assured him that I had no gun but wanted to get out of my car to only show him the little stickers on my license tags that I am up to date on my registration but somehow the paperwork from this past June never made it into my dashboard. Note to self- Find current registration info.

But I did make it to the beach. And enjoyed a most delicious salad of tomatoes and basil from my garden, plus mozzarella cheese – the soft kind, fresh spinach, grapes, sunflower seeds and blue cheese dressing. A juicy, crunchy combo. And oh yes, the salad was frosted with ocean air, a big orange ball of slipping sun, and rising half-moon flourishes. Quite yummy.

About Mare Cromwell

Mare Cromwell is the award-winning author of "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother" and "If I gave you God's phone number....Searching for Spirituality in America." She is currently working on her third book: "The Great Mother Bible." She has studied with Native American teachers for eighteen years and sits on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare calls Western Maryland her home. To learn more about her books, go to http://www.pamoonpress.com. (Note: she is a former worm herder. ;~)
This entry was posted in Earth Mother, earth spirituality, fun, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

