Messenger – Poem by Mary Oliver

Messenger

by Mary Oliver

My work is loving the world.

Here the sunflowers, there the hummingbird—equal seekers of sweetness.

Here the quickening yeast; there the blue plums.

Here the clam deep in the speckled sand.

Are my boots old?  Is my coat torn?

Am I no longer young, and still not half-perfect?  Let me

keep my mind on what matters,

which is my work,

which is mostly standing still and learning to be

astonished.

The phoebe, the delphinium.

The sheep in the pasture, and the pasture.

Which is mostly rejoicing, since all the ingredients are here,

Which is gratitude, to be given a mind and a heart and these body-clothes,

a mouth with which to give shouts of joy

to the moth and the wren, to the sleepy dug-up clam,

telling them all, over and over, how it is

that we live forever.

About Mare Cromwell

Mare Cromwell is the award-winning author of "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother" and "If I gave you God's phone number....Searching for Spirituality in America." She is currently working on her third book: "The Great Mother Bible." She has studied with Native American teachers for eighteen years and sits on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare calls Western Maryland her home. To learn more about her books, go to http://www.pamoonpress.com. (Note: she is a former worm herder. ;~)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Messenger – Poem by Mary Oliver

  1. slpmartin says:

    I love the way you unite the beginning and end of this poem.

  2. Hi, You are very kind but Mary Oliver wrote the poem, not I. She’s brilliant… I have several of her poems on my blog. Perhaps you’ll enjoy reading some of the others too.
    - mare

  3. Pingback: THIRST by Mary Oliver — Lifescape Magazine

  4. nwood@sky.com says:

    I use to know a Mary Lyon Oliver at the Chelmer Institue Brentwood 1977-80 this is not she is it ? Do you know ? She was an art student

  5. Hi,

    I received your comment on my blog about Mary Oliver. I honestly don’t know Mary Oliver’s hometown but if you google her more, surely there is some information somewhere on her hometown. She’s considered one of the most accomplished American poets at this time though. A very gifted woman.

    Good luck with your search,
    Mare

Leave a Reply

