Hope Ruminant

I’m thinking about Hope this Sunday morning. The cats’ kitty litter needs to be cleaned. I need to give Max his insulin shot and herbal pill for his diabetes. And I’m bouncing around the house contemplating the human need for Hope to survive, to lift our spirits, to get us out of bed on a very dreary morning especially when our tails are dragging.

What is this thing called Hope? Can we package it? Sell it? Commercialize it? Or is it rather one of those ephemeral aspects of our soul that flits in and out and sometimes even rests for a long time in the very core of our being – -that God Space, divine connection?  If we’re lucky…  Or work at it?

So I’m ruminating on Hope. And if I were a cow with four stomachs and the ability to chew the cud on Hope… I might be able to discern it , define it, grasp it – Hope – far better. But for now, with miles to go before I sleep (Sacred Gardening discussion in Silver Spring this evening) I’ll just ruminate with my one stomach and no cud. But thick brain clogged with musings on how to encapsulate Hope… well.

About Mare Cromwell

Mare Cromwell is the award-winning author of "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother" and "If I gave you God's phone number....Searching for Spirituality in America." She is currently working on her third book: "The Great Mother Bible." She has studied with Native American teachers for eighteen years and sits on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare calls Western Maryland her home. To learn more about her books, go to http://www.pamoonpress.com. (Note: she is a former worm herder. ;~)
This entry was posted in spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hope Ruminant

  1. Pingback: Hope Ruminant « For the Earth Blog Information

  2. Geri Bell says:

    Mare, I’m wondering if my response to your question about Hope that I left at your Facebook site last night got deleted or whether it just didn’t go through. I responded as I did cause my concerns about my work are very much in my thoughts these days…So there’s hope, trust, knowing, vs all the opposites of those words centered mainly around fear, that I hesitate to speak too much of…otherwise the ensuing depression can almost immobilize me….But I wondered if by mentioning my work by name, my comment was erased?? Peace..Hope..Namaste…..Geri

Leave a Reply

