Mermaid’s Message

Havfrue, by Elisabeth Jerichau Baumann

I’m not exactly sure what is happening but mermaids have been popping up in my life since last Friday. I was at Chincoteague and Assateague and walked into an eclectic store of used books and clothing and art. At the back of the store was a very attractive woman reviewing her work on a fresh piece of art – a large mermaid painting.

 

The woman, Katherine Kiss, was a true joy to speak with and she gave me her card. You can see some of her work at this website. http://www.hrhkatherinekissartist.com/

Scroll down and you’ll see one of her mermaid pieces. Better yet, go visit her on Main Street across from the Vietnamese restaurant there. There is only one Vietnamese restaurant in Chincoteague to the best of my knowledge.

 

I was taken with Katherine’s mermaid art and she gifted me with a postcard of one of pieces. Upon returning home, I put it up on my frig to admire, which I have been doing every day. I love how happy and cherubic-faced her mermaids are.

 

Then I go to get some quick food in downtown Frederick the following early evening, and one restaurant is closed. So I go to a Mom & Pop hamburger place (that has locally grown beef, all good)  nearby and pull into to a parking spot only to see a large metal mermaid hanging on the wood wall across from my parking space.

 

This morning I open up the BBC news headers and see this headline:

No evidence of mermaids, says US government

Apparently there was a TV show on mermaids that aired in late May on Animal Planet and folks were led to believe that mermaids might actually exist. So there has been a lot of hoopla about it to the point where one of our government agencies, NOAA, needed to issue a statement about how mermaids are fictional. Our government dollars at work.

 

Here is a review of this mermaid show:
http://tv.nytimes.com/2012/05/26/arts/television/mermaids-the-body-found-on-animal-planet.html

 

To me the question though is: why are mermaids popping up in my life now? I’m a big student of the Sacred Feminine and believe that going to the ocean can be like going to Mecca for getting in touch with the Sacred Mother of our planet.

 

Is there some spiritual significance to mermaids that Spirit is trying to convey to me? Perhaps there is a message that I can learn to swim through life more gracefully, instead of blocking opportunities and moving haltingly forward.

 

I am working on a new book that is absolutely downloading in me and it’s marvelous and so much fun. Maybe the mermaids are inviting me to just swim in the divine energy of this wild creativity that is pouring through me and onto the paper.

 

This feels right to me, and I embrace their playful energy and will swim through this book drafting with great fun and joy.

 

Yet I also wonder about the great vastness of the ocean and the feminine energies of these immense bodies of water so connected around the globe. And the chance, slight chance that there might be mystical women-fish who carry this wisdom of the ocean into their diving and swimming dances down to the deep. Maybe only Davy Jones knows the truth there. But I like to dream.

 

About Mare Cromwell

Mare Cromwell is the award-winning author of "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother" and "If I gave you God's phone number....Searching for Spirituality in America." She is currently working on her third book: "The Great Mother Bible." She has studied with Native American teachers for eighteen years and sits on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare calls Western Maryland her home. To learn more about her books, go to http://www.pamoonpress.com. (Note: she is a former worm herder. ;~)
This entry was posted in earth spirituality, fun, Sacred Feminine, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

