The New World Sits Gestating within Us

Sometimes something profound happens when I am meditating. This morning, just a few moments ago, I was sitting in front of my altar. I had just lit a candle and burned some sage to offer some prayers to Creator and Earth Mother.

 

Then I honored my belly by holding it with both hands since I’ve been having some health issues there. The warmth of my hands and their supporting my belly encouraged me to sink my energy more fully into my wombspace. This is my seat of creativity and compassion, I’m learning.

 

As I was doing this, an image came to mind and I could feel my belly fill with it. My belly became the world, as if I was the Great Mother of this beautiful Earth. A round ball of beautiful waterfalls, and clean water, and vibrant life with birds and animals and so much joy started softly shimmering in my belly and I just held it. I held it as a mother holds her baby in embryo.

 

It felt so whole and healthy and full of potential for goodness. It replaced the fears and sorrow about my health issues and all the other stuck energies lodged there in my wombspace for who knows how long.

 

For a brief millisecond, I was Earth Mother gestating a planet of great hope and magnificence and it was so deliciously fun and full of love and life.

Then I remembered this image that a friend shared with me yesterday.

And it was good. Goodness.

 

Maybe that is what each of us can do. Meditate on birthing this new world that is cracking open in the midst of the crumbling of the old world.  Imagine it in our bellies, especially as women, and help birth it into the present.

 

What we dream, we can then manifest.

 

For the Healing of the Earth and ourselves.

Blessings,

mare

About Mare Cromwell

Mare Cromwell is the award-winning author of "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother" and "If I gave you God's phone number....Searching for Spirituality in America." She is currently working on her third book: "The Great Mother Bible." She has studied with Native American teachers for eighteen years and sits on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare calls Western Maryland her home. To learn more about her books, go to http://www.pamoonpress.com. (Note: she is a former worm herder. ;~)
This entry was posted in Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Environmental Issues, fun, nature, Sacred Feminine, Society Ills, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The New World Sits Gestating within Us

  1. Smoky Zeidel says:

    What a beautiful post, and picture! Thank you, Mare, for your lovely blog.

  2. Thanks, Smoky, and I admire your writing so, also… I need to read more of it…
    hugs and blessings!
    m

Leave a Reply

