Deep Silence – quote – Paul Brunton

Deep silence has a melody of its own, a sweetness unknown amid the harsh discords of the world’s sounds.
PAUL BRUNTON
I have been reflecting on silence. How powerful it is. And this quote just surfaced from an e-newsletter that I receive. It used to be that I listened to the radio in my car. Now I sit in the silence of the car engine and my mind spinning, weaving, dodging and sometimes coming to a place of stillness. Stillness is very hard. Perhaps stillness is not the goal while driving anyway since I’m constantly watching the other drivers to be a good defensive driver on the road. For instance a truck was swerving too much into the middle lane today on the highway. Not a good idea to be focusing on stillness while a truck swipes my car! ;~)
But still… oh, bad pun!
Still… there is something to be said about being in a very calm place. All the time. Ha! Most of the time… let’s be honest here and admit that I’m a human, after all.
Stillness and cultivating silence are one of the hardest things that I can do. Yet I continue to try. Wrestle the monkeybrain to the ground and stuff her full of chocolate. Then I get morsels of silence.
All good!
;~)

About Mare Cromwell

Mare Cromwell is the award-winning author of "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother" and "If I gave you God's phone number....Searching for Spirituality in America." She is currently working on her third book: "The Great Mother Bible." She has studied with Native American teachers for eighteen years and sits on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare calls Western Maryland her home. To learn more about her books, go to http://www.pamoonpress.com. (Note: she is a former worm herder. ;~)
This entry was posted in fun, quote, Society Ills, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deep Silence – quote – Paul Brunton

  1. Jeff Cox says:

    Dear Marie,

    Lovely quote and interesting story–do you know about paulbrunton.org and http://www.facebook.com/paulbruntonphilosophicfoundation ? There are many free resources there.

    Jeff Cox

  2. Jeff Cox says:

    Hi Mare,

    My monkey mind mispelled your name! Very sorry.

    Jeff

  3. Hi Jeff,
    No, I don’t know of this website… thank you for alerting me.

    And don’t worry, you’re in good company with the Monkey-Mind stuff. Pretty much how I live… sigh. ;~)
    Though I am learning more ways to tame it… still it. All good.
    blessings, blessings,
    mare

Leave a Reply

