THE PRACTICE OF COMPASSIONATE ABIDING – Pema Chodron

A question that has intrigued me for years is this: how can we start exactly where we are, with all our entanglements, and still develop unconditional acceptance of ourselves instead of guilt and depression? One of the most helpful methods I’ve found is the practice of compassionate abiding. The next time you realize that you’re hooked, you could experiment with this approach.

Contacting the experience of being hooked, you breathe in, allowing the feeling completely and opening to it. The in-breath can be deep and relaxed—anything that helps you to let the feeling be there, anything that helps you not push it away. Then, still abiding with the urge and edginess of the feeling, as you breathe out you relax and give the feeling space. The out-breath is not a way of sending the discomfort away but of ventilating it, of loosening the tension around it, of becoming aware of the space in which the discomfort is occurring.

- Pema Chodron

This is so exactly what I needed to read this morning. To relax the tension that I hold in my body. To open it up compassionately and invite it to loosen it’s grip in my belly or shoulders. Yes… aho… such timely wisdom to appear in my email inbox (I get weekly quotes from her). I’ve decided to organize a very large event (in my mind) in a short time period and already the tension has been building in my body. And I must breathe it out, breathe it out, keep on inviting it to loosen up and go. I don’t need to hold this. I can trust. Yes.

About Mare Cromwell

Mare Cromwell is the award-winning author of "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother" and "If I gave you God's phone number....Searching for Spirituality in America." She is currently working on her third book: "The Great Mother Bible." She has studied with Native American teachers for eighteen years and sits on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare calls Western Maryland her home. To learn more about her books, go to http://www.pamoonpress.com. (Note: she is a former worm herder. ;~)
This entry was posted in quote, spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

