Sacred Gardening Journal – on “Sacred”

So, it’s Sunday morning in Baltimore. About 65 out right now. My cats spent the bulk of the night out since it was so warm and I could not coax them in last night around midnight. It’s always a highlight of the new year when my cats spend their first night outside. Then they come in the morning and are completely crashed for the whole day. Kitty pillows around the house.

So, I got this push to talk about “Sacred” this am. And what “Sacred” means.

Well first of all, it probably means different things to different people. Just as “God” means different things to different people. (Don’t I know that..!  With my first book… oh yes…..)

But what I love about the term “Sacred” is that it does not trigger people as the term “God” does. (What’s that about? I don’t even want to go there.) But  “Sacred” conveys a sense of the Divine, something spiritually rich or spiritually energized. I call something “sacred” when it encourages me to think of things beyond the physical and mundane.

If someone very spiritual has blessed something, someone such as Gandhi or Mother Teresa, then I would called that object sacred. I think it’s been energized by the heightened Divine energy that Gandhi or Mother Teresa was experiencing that pushed them to do the amazing work that they did. Oh my gosh, if I could touch something that Christ touched and blessed, that would be truly, truly a SACRED object… because I believe that the Christ was very, very connected to the DIVINE, and I’m using capital letters there to really emphasize how connected I believe the Christ was to the Creator and Universal conduits of love-healing energy.

Oh, dear. I could go on here forever. And I need to eat my breakfast and vacuum my house, not to mention make a lasagna dinner and Death by Orange Chocolate Fudge for dessert. Friend coming over for dinner.

So, I just wanted to share a little that by talking about doing Sacred Gardening, our goal is to infuse this garden and what we do with a sense of Sacredness, and give the soil, the space, the plants, blessings and love that is full of good positive energy that Jasmine, my Cherokee teacher (and chief buddy for breakfasts at Friendly’s) knows how to bring out. And she has helped us who study with her know how to source also. And as most of us have witnessed whenever you give something, a person, a cat, dog, or a plant a lot of love, and even treat it as if it were sacred, it will respond — as if it were sacred. And in the case of plants, this means amazing growth and colors and fruits etc. Sure some good soil and sunlight is part of the recipe too, the sacredness perspective is truly amazing when it comes to gardening. Okay – amazing with everything. Isn’t all of it SACRED anyway?

btw. this energy is not patented, marketable, copyrighted, digitized, bar coded and all that good stuff. It’s free for anyone to use from a positive place.. It’s Earth Mother’s energy and Creator’s energy that we simply call on to help do work for them (not us, really.. their work through us).

Okay.. a bit woo-woo -ish… I know. But not really.

I really could go on forever here. My stomach is telling me to stop. ;~)

xxo m

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Cherokee, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, gardening, God, nature, Sacred Gardening Journal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.