5:28am Kicked up and Out of Bed – SG Journal

Woke up at 5am this morning. Earth Mother seems to want me up and writing here on this blog. The good news is that I don’t feel tired right now (5:28am). The bad news is that I’m going to hit the wall by mid-afternoon by jamming my morning with writing and cleaning my house. Some friends coming over this evening and need to have the house clean and food cooked by 6pm. Going to be one of those action-packed Fantastic Four days. whoosh… I could use a Fantastic Four cleaning crew. Wonder if there is such a crew to be found in the yellow pages?

So…. my friend, Brigitte came over yesterday and (she’s sleeping in my guest room as I write this) and both of us got wrapped up in computer work last night and watched the beginning of Wall-E. (a very brilliant, and cute film) But I kept feeling out of sorts and as if I should be doing something else after dinner. I could not figure it out since Briggers and I were playing with some WordPress setting etc.

But then, at 4:50am this morning, it hit me. I had planned to ask Briggers to help me do my early spring blessing of my gardens last night in the dark. She studies with Jasmine too and is very open to all of these sacred ways.  But I got distracted and forgot.

The weird thing is that I’ve been doing these blessings with sacred tobacco (I grow it – the original seeds I ordered years ago – Hopi Ceremonial Tobacco) and smudge for about eight years. By the fourth year, if I forgot to do the blessing before starting to dig in the soil, an uncomfortable feeling would linger within me for days until I did it. It was almost like an uneasiness that was ever so subtle but still present. And I’m realizing that what I was feeling last night and this morning is this same sense of off-ness, if that is a word.

Because.. honestly.. the plants outside know it’s spring. My crocuses are up and silver maple buds are beyond the early swollen stage and their teeny-weeny flowers are poking out. And I’ve already felt guilty for pulling up one weed in my yard and starting to pile a few dead branches up to haul into the woods — BECAUSE I have not yet sought permission and the blessings of the nature energies around my house and neighborhood to break Earth Mother’s skin one more time, in THIS very spring, to work with them and Her, to grow the flowers and veggies, herbs etc. My bad.

It is a very odd feeling that I have circulating through me right now in this ‘off-ness’. It’s like an itchy, under the skin, slightly unbalanced sense. I actually tried to resolve it by buying Smartwater with electrolytes late yesterday afternoon. That tasted good but did not shift me. No… this off-ness is because the nature energies around my house are putting pressure on me to do Ceremony to honor them and all the hard work they put into my gardens. And they know, that I know, that I’m late doing this this spring. I’m grateful that they don’t wear heavy boots because they would be kicking me in butt otherwise and I’d have a sore hiney, for sure.

So.. It’s now 5:54am and still dark outside and I think I still have enough dark to do this blessing without my neighbors watching me (they already think I’m a bit wacko for the occasional smudging on the porch that I do not to mention my eclectic gardening designs). Time to go Bless!

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Cherokee, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, gardening, God, Sacred Gardening Journal, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5:28am Kicked up and Out of Bed – SG Journal

  1. Pingback: Nicotiana rustica - Sacred Tobacco

Comments are closed.