To the Gardens this Morning – SG Journal

It’s 6:15am.. Something kicked me out of bed at 5:30am, must have been my spirit guide. Or maybe Earth Mother. Either way, their kick was successful and here I am, awake in the wee hours, sending some journal thoughts out to the vast mysteries of the cyberworld. Really floors me sometimes, this whole WWW thing. I write. You read. Any where.. you could be anywhere. Conversely, you write, I read… and you could be anywhere, practically.

Which begs the question: is there wifi access on top of Everest? hmmm… need to ponder that one. Frostbitten fingers and all that typing away. Maybe not so impt to have wifi access there.

So….. this is my first day back in the professional realms of gardening. I’m headed to my favorite client’s yard to start up on the spring clean-up of cutting back, pruning, etc etc, to get ready for a good garden mulch later in April. This is a big job, this garden with all its various beds, on the hill, in front of the house, to the side of the house, etc etc. So I’ll have some assistants helping me out there. Three people will meet me this morning. Then I have another two helping me out on Fri.

And… what’s interesting, maybe this is what woke me up this am, is that I feel a little nervous about the gardening today. I’m not nervous about the actual gardening, I’m feeling insecure about these new folks I’ll be working with. Two of them are complete newbies and I’ll need to give them an orientation to the garden. Where the garden cart is stored. Where we dump all of our weeds in the compost pile, bathroom location etc. That’s the mundane stuff.

What is giving me some angst is the Sacred garden stuff I do when I’m gardening.. Will this weird them out? I hired a guy to help me last fall for a couple of days and he just couldn’t get into the sensitive approach to gardening of tuning into the plants and honoring their consciousness. And he hacked a bunch of blossoms off a set of butterfly bushes and I just knew he was not right for my gardening business. I think he’s still scratching his head about the stuff we talked about in the garden. Plant communication, animals bringing us communication – ala Animal Speak by Ted Andrews, etc.

So this morning… I think I’m going to need to go in slowly and not make any big announcement about my approach to my gardening business… maybe drop some subtle hints through the day.. encourage people to be sensitive to the plants… those kinds of directions that hopefully suggest developing an awareness and respect. But I’ll lean away from using words such as ‘reverence’, ‘love’ — scratch that, I think it’s okay to say ‘love’ – give the plant love.

This rapidly changing world that we live in is so hungry for ‘love’, or LOVE. Earth Mother would so like us to reconnect with Her, and give the love back to her that she gives to us… Through our work, through our steps on the ground, through every breath we take.. She give us so much – food, water, fresh air.. essentially our physicality. My god, if Earth Mother had not pushed the planet to evolve in such an amazingly sophisticated way.. we couldn’t even live here. Our souls would have had to go to some other planet to live, some lesser place.. probably.

Yet mainstream religions on the planet right now completely deny that there is anything such as Earth Mother, our planetary caretaker. And those who used to live so close to Her and in Right Relationship with Her have been almost wiped out and now are trying to regain their cultures through clouds of alcoholism and poverty. So people like me are trying to bring Her back into our consciousness. But because we are so few and far between… We are WEIRD and ODD and DIFFERENT and hence sometimes insecure.

Like me, this morning.

I know.. I’ll get over this. It’s my first day and I might as well be a pre-schooler so nervous for the first day of school. Or I guess a new teacher in a new setting… but none of those metaphors really work.

But I’ll just listen to my instincts (ALWAYS HELPFUL! ;~) and focus on having fun… because if there is one thing about gardening with me, we try to have fun and work hard, and  have more fun. And there is nothing like a tea party cutting back oodles and oodles of liriope with scissors to catch every weed that has creeped in between the liriope stems.

liriope

Edward Scissorhands, here we come!

;~)

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Cherokee, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, fun, gardening, Sacred Gardening Journal, Society Ills, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To the Gardens this Morning – SG Journal

  1. Pingback: Carts Vermont Super Wood Cart | Carts and Wagons

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review – My Blog gets a physical and is deemed “healthy”. ;~) « For the Earth Blog

Comments are closed.