Choices in Thinking, Choices in Beliefs on what is Conscious or Not

[So… I just created a new discussion topic and group on Kitchen Gardeners International, and it turned into a bit of a lively dialogue that was fun and provocative and pushed me a little… so I thought I’d share it here. I’ve changed the first name of the individual whom I was dialoguing with to ‘E’ — Enjoy… (I really am amazed at the internet and opportunity for healthy dialogue on it at times…)]

[My intro schpeal to the Sacred Gardening dialogue]…it would be really fun to create a Sacred Gardening group here on KGI, for those interested.. Anyone interested though? It could be a forum for all regardless of your faith or belief system…Surely most of us garden to connect with the earth and it’s a healing process for our spirits regardless…

 

love to hear your thoughts,

mare

 

E: Mare, I agree with the basic tenants of respect and honor for nature.I was taught this at a very yound age.On THIS point,I agree 100%.However,…the day you see me pick up a ROCK,and say I LOVE YOU,you’ll know it’s time for Ed to hang up the hoe. I hope your group is a success.

 

M: Hi E,

Well, I suppose telling a Rock that you love it does sound a bit woo-woo-ish… that’s cool. Honestly, I don’t pick up rocks and tell them that.. but I do pick up rocks and talk with them and have learned to tune into them to hear their wisdom.. (which is quite possible.. not I’m not schizophrenic).. but then again, I’ve been apprenticing with a Cherokee medicine woman for 14 years now, and it’s taken me a loooooooong time to hear anything. And it does not always come through.. the communication, depends on my mood, the rock, etc etc….

 

But if you study quantum physics at all.. you start to learn that we are all just energy… dancing emptiness of neutrons and protons of voids of energy that are dense in some places and not so dense in others, and if this energy sources from a higher power.. and there is consciousness in energy, as native peoples tell us that there is.. then a stone is conscious. Plants are conscious… etc etc. then it is very possible to communicate with stones or plants.. for sure. ;~) But maybe that sounds a bit woo-whoo-ish too. But when Quantum Physicists are playing with these ideas too… is it really Woo-woo? (I don’t think so, but I know most folks are not ready to make that leap.. our culture and educational system brainwashed us into thinking that everything around us is either dead – including the planet at large – or just a menial thing that’s growing… )

 

But thanks for dropping your note here and let’s hear it for RESPECT regardless… ;~)

 

E: I don’t know if you are a parent or not,but the next time you look in your child’s face,remind yourself that he/she is a ” dancing emptiness of NEUTRONS and PROTONS of voids of energy that are dense in some places and not so dense in others…” not gonna happen. good luck, Mare

 

M: Hi E,

Yes, you are right, if I had children (which I don’t) I would not see them as dancing atomic particles. I would see them with great love, the deepest kind of love that a parent has for a child. I have cats and I have people in my life whom I’m quite close to, for whom I feel deep deep love.

 

But I think you’re missing the point of what I’m trying to say… so I’ll try another way. Many people believe that ultimately God/Creator/Allah/Great Mystery (choose your name) is LOVE. This is a truth that runs through all mainstream religions and some not so mainstream belief systems. And if we believe that God/Creator/Allah/Great Mystery’s energy created the Universe and hence us, and the planet, plants, animals, stones etc, then this means that the Sacred Energy of the God/Creator/Allah/Great Mystery is found in all of these incredible things and living beings found on our planet.

 

And if physicists are now telling us that what we are made up of, mostly, is energy, dancing atomic particles spinning in space within the atoms, then all of that energy is still Sacred Energy.. hence all that is around us is Sacred. And within us. And it is all LOVE energy… and it all sources back to God/Creator/Allah/Great Mystery.

 

But most people have not learned this concept or way of perceiving the world around them, unless they were raised in an indigenous community that has kept it’s worldview rather pure.

 

And hence, we are now living on a planet that is undergoing dire climatic change, rising sea levels, toxification of many locales, deforestation on a massive scale, etc etc… We’ve forgotten that it’s all Sacred and that God/Creator/Allah/Great Mystery gave us this opportunity to live on this planet so we can celebrate our lives and live with Joy… Instead there is massive suffering and poisoning of our bodies, etc, rising sea levels.. etc.

 

Okay. I’ll get off the soap box.

Thank you E, for pushing me to write more.. this is a good clarification of my mental rumblings that have been simmering for a while. And you’ve pushed me to put it out there in blogosphere and I’m grateful to you for that.

 

I can tell that you love your children and your family. You are a good man. ;~)

for the Earth and the healing,

mare

 

E: Mare,..my fiesty friend,….in YOUR wourld,..even electricity would be ”concious”,should I feel bad when I unplug the toaster? LIFE and ENERGY are not the same.They are ”co-dependent” upon each other,but still separate .Does a cancer cell have a ”concious?” Should I consider it sacred?If your best friend was dying of cancer,….would it STILL be a sacrement? think.

——

E: I enjoyed our little”debate”…..good luck Mare. last reply

 

M: Ah, E…

Yes.. a fun little ‘debate’.. here’s to happy plants and soul-ful gardening and Love to all around us.. including those who don’t have two legs.. ;~)

 

for the Earth and the healing,

m

 

E: Amen sister…..we can leave this planet either better or worse. We make the choice.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Cherokee, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, fun, gardening, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Choices in Thinking, Choices in Beliefs on what is Conscious or Not

  1. Pingback: Trippin Pipe Blogs » Blog Archive » Opening in Selected Theaters This Weekend | Fancast News

  2. J Arthur Davis says:

    M:
    Interesting, lively debate… E: seems to have a bit of a problem getting his arms around the possibility that everything in the universe could be made up of energy.

    When I first started to study the principles of biodynamics I thought these folks were really out there in space. Now that I have had time to research and study I am really amazed how you can channel energy into your growing conditions.

    I have several friends from the Cherokee peoples and am always learning more and more about the possibilities when you respect the energy given by nature.

    Keep the faith…..

  3. Thanks…
    I’m trying to keep the faith… And trying to also be respectful of others’ beliefs…

    Though sometimes it would be so nice if we could just find a pill to put in the water to wake people up from the — whatever you want to call it — and encourage them to see that life is a dance of energy and celebration and love and let’s move the negativity and close-mindedness to the side… or into a bottle that is buried for a million years plus. ;~)

    thank you though…I appreciate your support…
    mare

Leave a Reply

