Animal Spirit Medicine

Well, I was doing a little websearching and just discovered a webring of Native American oriented sites. And I immediately was drawn to this site: http://www.moonmother8.com/

This woman is a soul-sister, I swear. Anyone who is writing about how animals appear to us as teachers sent by Earth Mother is doing very important work. The truth is that when we develop a relationship with Earth Mother and claim it, then we become more attuned to what is going on around us in nature and Earth Mother will send us animal teachers to guide us. Specific animals, birds, insects, amphibeans — any of them — will be sent to us for us to observe and register their ‘medicine’ or teachings.

I have repeatedly been sent praying mantises right when I’ve been weighing whether to take on more work and get busier. Each time they were a message that I’m not supposed to focus on the income and more work but to instead slow down and still myself for some other ‘work’ that I’m meant to do. This happened last fall several weeks before my Sacred Gardening workshop when a prospective new client called me to see if I could take her garden on for a clean-up. The next night a large adult praying mantis was on my storm door at knee level. I saw him/her and thanked him for showing up. Then ten minutes later, just to make sure that I got the message, when I checked the storm door again, the praying mantis was right at my eye level staring me right in the face! Just to make sure I got the message! Needless to say I did not take on the new client and referred her to someone else who does similar work as I do.

My teacher Jasmine has actually heard animals mutter as they’re waiting to be noticed: “Okay, you had better get the message because I was sent here to give it to you and I’ve really got better things to do now. I did my job and tried.” These critters are very aware that they are sent and have a job. But they’ll only hold out so long. They’ve got lives to live.

If only more people would wake up to this.

There will be a chapter on this in my second book – personal experiences that I’ve had with specific animals that were giving me wisdom in that moment.

Thank you, June Brown and I will circle back to your website often.

(I still need to write more about seeing that snake eat the frog and what it meant as Animal Spirit Medicine. There was a clear teaching for me there… a bit one. More on that!)

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Cherokee, Earth Mother, earth spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Animal Spirit Medicine

  1. charming post. due one unimportant where I quarrel with it. I am emailing you in detail.

  2. Hi, I look forward to your thoughts…
    Mare

  3. jeanraffa says:

    Hi Mare,

    What a wonderful post! I just found your blog after being directed to it by WordPress because of my recent post about Our Lady of the Beasts and animal medicine. My next three posts will be about the lessons my horse taught me, so if you’re interested, check out http://jeanraffa.wordpress.com

    Thanks for the important work you’re doing.

    Jeanie

  4. Hi Jean,
    Thanks for reading my post. I’m a huge believer in animal spirit medicine. How wonderful that you have a horse… what powerful animals they are. And I’m very partial to horse people. I’ll check out your blog shortly. For the earth and the healing,
    Mare

Leave a Reply

