Snippets Con’t – Mon 8/24

Entry Two

8/24

Mon afternoon, after day of gardening at a client’s house, was swimming laps at the pool. Saw a woman reading a book called Why Is It All About Me?

At the pool, while swimming, was thinking about my cousin who swims there but I never see her. She usually swims very early in the am – an ungodly hour for me.

She was going to teach me about how to swimming turns at the wall last year or was it the year before? We never connected about it. Then she showed up at the end of my swimming lane on the edge of the pool. She’s been really sick and is on a different swim schedule now as she tries to get her energy back. She proceeds to show me how to do the turn and I grasp the technique easily. I tell her that if I had known about how sick she was I would have brought her some food. But she and I don’t see much of each other these days and talk maybe only once or twice a year now. We used to be closer.

Earlier today, a grande dame Blue Atlas Cedar tree healed me at my client’s property. When I arrived at the property, I was in such woeful spirits. The tree called to me to do my prayers to Creator and Earth Mother under her. So I did them and then started to walk away. The tree commanded me to come back and talk with her – touch her bark. I was literally yanked back to the tree. If anyone had been watching, they probably thought I had been yanked by an invisible crook of a cane back. I don’t do normal things in the garden, at times.

I know the tree is a ‘she’ since my Cherokee teacher met her several years ago and affirmed that the tree is female then. This tree is more than 300 years old, towers more than a hundred feet up and two of us stretching our arms around the girth of the tree barely touch each other. The tree is the power center of the property — and calls me to her often.

Today was different. As soon as I walked away from the tree, I was a shifted, lighter person. She took my melancholy from me and I was instantaneously in a better mood.. more positive, uplifted… Even was cracking jokes with my assistant later that morning.

My assistant was in an off mood too, so I encouraged her to go talk with the tree. Then when I caught up with my assistant half an hour later on the other side of the house, her mood was very different and lighter. She shared the tree told her to focus on “loving not just being loved…” This prompted me to say that one of my issues is being able to love through the faults that I see.

Is this what is going on for me with my teacher?

After I left the property that afternoon, my mood started to sink again… too much lead in my heart, I fear.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Earth Mother, earth spirituality, fun, gardening, Sacred Gardening Journal, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

