Sucker Played or Truth? A Plea I Received this Weekend…

Well, something new happened to me this weekend. I got a plea from a total stranger in Texas who emailed me through my God’s phone number book website: www.tocallgod.net. This is the first time I’ve gotten such a plea. So I’m copying and pasting the email dialogue below. Note that I’m also including a response from Jasmine, my Cherokee teacher here too, that I sent to D.

From: D., Friday pm, 9/4, 6:38pm

well i guess i am getting desperate.up to two years ago;life was good.i had a good job;owned my own home;and my health was good.now due to health issues i was forced out on retirement and live on a fixed income of about a thousand a month.i have no health insurance;and doctors say i need an operation to repair a heart valve.well i can;t even do that;becausei have no insurance;no money and i have tried everything.i have to take medication for my heart in which i can no longer afford.i usually go to bed at nites on an empty stomach at least 4 nites a week.for i can;t even afford to buy food.i am now close to being forced out on the street because i am about to lose my house.so do me a favor;if you have GODS number please give him a call for me;and tell him i need his help.and yes i was baptised;and i am a member of a church;and yes i do believe and love our lord;and our awesome god.i pray every nite for him to help me;but prayers are running thin here and i have no hope left..thanks d


From: Mare

To: D

9/4, 8.47pm

Dear D,

I’m so sorry to hear that your life has taken such a downturn. Surely there are people in your church who can help you? Or family members?

I will pray for you.  But one thing I learned in the process of writing my book was that each of us has God’s phone number within us. The challenge lies in being to tune into it and hear it.

My prayers and thoughts are with you…

Mare

[Note, I also then forwarded D’s email to Jasmine, my Cherokee Medicine Woman teacher, to see what she thought about this email plea…]

From: D

To: Mare

9/5, 9:06 am

well  thanks;but here in Texas not only my church;but others as well ;are over burden;and their funds are depleted due to helping others as you say.and i have even checked with our government to see if i could get help;but they tell me see your local churches ;and ask family for help.well you see my family has been hit hard by our bad economy and just barely hanging in there themselves.and i have found it is easy to sit there and say you are a christian;or even represent a christian  foundation;and pass out advise and feel good about ourselves;thinking well i have done my good deed for the day.but here is the thing we all forget ;our lord Jesus Christ came to this world and took upon himself all of our sins by being baptised in the Jordan river by John the baptist.then carring the very cross ;shedding his blood on that cross ;and then dying;and 3 days later he was resurrected and now sits at the right hand of God in heaven.but we all often forget that;and what he stood for ;love thy neighbor;and he meant for us to also help.so you see it is easy to tell others you are in my prayers ;our thoughts are with you;but to sit there and do nothing but give advise;can you say you really are a christian;just remember even satan knew actually who Jesus Christ our lord was.but that’s ok if i die so be it;you see Jesus Christ died for us all and that was real love.but when i do i can say i did reach out and my neighbor turned the other cheek.so can you say you are a christian….adise i don;t need ;help i do need and i am not afraid of asking….thanks d


From: Mare

To: D

9/5 11:07am

D,

Please tell me… What exactly do you seek from me? I live very simply, have very few resources, and time is not one of them right now really, too.

God bless you,
Mare

[I admit, I was getting impatient with his request and offended by his 2nd email.]

[then this email comes in from Jasmine while I’m still on the

computer]

From: Jasmine

To: Mare

9/5 12:04pm

Hi de ho Sista,

…  My heart goes out to him but the advice is the same for most of them.  Get alkaline,  heavily alkaline and DETOX for crying out loud   sigh….   Instead of buying all that “medicine” he should be buying fresh organic veggies and  NOT going hungry.   Hungry will not help his conditions one little bit.  It is sad how many people trust “drugs” even more than food  sigh….   I wish talking to God would help him but God gave him everything he needs,  he just needs to use it.  I haven’t a clue as to how you could tell him this or even if you should.  He sounds pretty lonely and would probably be emailing you frequently asking all sorts of questions.  But then I heard a good saying the other day that keeps running around in my head keeping my shadow somewhat at bay,  If ya never try to help one life, you will never help any. In any case you can give the advice and he will, of course, do with it as he chooses.

love ya bunches    ttfn jas


[So I forwarded Jasmine’s email to D with this note.]

Dear D,

I forwarded your first email to my Cherokee Medicine Woman teacher and this is her response to me this morning.  Beyond her response, I don’t really think I can help you. I don’ t have money to send, And I’m juggling all sorts of things…

If you research alkaline diets.. And really pursue this, it might really help you. Where there is a will, there is a way…

God and Earth Mother bless you,
Mare

[And so far, silence from D. It’s now Sunday morning.]
I could rant here but I won’t. My heart goes out to this poor man. But I also refuse to be sucked into a guilt trip, Christian dogma pit that will try to tug at my heart strings because of beliefs about Satan and other stuff that this poor man has learned in his church and probably family.

Maybe I’m cold-hearted for not sending this man money. But I honestly don’t have the money to send him and any other people who might start to email me through my book website.  I really don’t think I’m coldhearted… just very wary of being sucker-played. I do sometimes give money to panhandlers on the street.. sometimes, not all the time. It’s really hard…

And it’s terrible, terrible how our healthcare system is failing so many people in this country. And there should be a safety net that works for people like D so they don’t need to contact a stranger who happened to write a book based on the concept of God’s phone number.

Of course, this is even assuming that D’s situation is real and he is honestly telling the truth. I know about scams and creeps and people trying to lure innocent people into financial traps – only too well. [See previous posting]

But this man, D, triggers me where I’m sensitive and that is to the negative slant of so much Christian dogma. Hell, Satan and damnation.. all that stuff. It’s so sad how much fear is taught in so many churches.

I’m very certain that the Christ never meant for so much fear to be part of his teachings.

So. D. wherever you are, whomever you are… Jasmine is right. You have had all that you needed within you throughout your life. I’m sorry that your choices have led you to try to get help from me, a total stranger, who happens to be an author. Because the only really valuable thing I can offer you is what Jasmine wrote.

And I do pray that the Creator and Earth Mother can help you in this terrible moment of despair – assuming that your story is legitimate.

For the Earth and healing… including D.

m

p.s. I have to also confess here that I kinda assumed that if I told D that I studied with a Cherokee teacher and offer to pray to Creator and Earth Mother for him, that he might be weirded out by that and that would encourage him to cease sending me his emails of guilt-laden pleas.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Cherokee, Earth Mother, Society Ills, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sucker Played or Truth? A Plea I Received this Weekend…

  1. I received this wonderful batch of comments from my FaceBook friends… Thank you all for your insightful, very insightful thoughts…

    JA
    Mare, I think you played it beautifully. I probably would have just put him on ignore and not responded at all.

    Mare Cromwell – 10:34am
    thanks, Jack… I felt that i needed to reply something.. my book being about God and all that.. I don’t think God would have ignored the man, assuming the man was legit… ugh.

    DB – 10:37am
    I think you did the exact right thing. If he wrote back after all of that, I might even respond again. I mean, not getting deeply involved to extent that you send him anything, but maybe you would have a chance of helping him to ease some unnecessary suffering while expending very little energy of your own. I wonder if he even read your book though.

    I, too, am simply exhausted by anything dogmatic from any religion, especially Christianity. I mean, it’s a nice religion and all, but I don’t think that the people who have made it into a lifestyle hate fest would ever understand that.

    DL – 11:27am
    He was asking to be rescued by a power outside himself, which is the opposite of having “Gods’ phone number” within. He was following the constructs of the mental-created reality of much religion. He was doing the best he could with what he knew, and he “accidentally” picked someone to ask for help who views the world differently. The Universe … Read Morealways gives us what we need, and he got exactly what he needed through you and Jasmine. He may not like it, but that’s not your problem. He will have to change his own reality. You can’t do that for him, and there’s no value to worrying about that. Peace.

    LE – 2:15pm
    Mare,
    I agree that you did exactly the right thing. Wonderful and “right on” advice from Jasmine is the best to offer. Not only does it teach but also offers an opportunity for D to take responsibility for his own walk. If this whole thing is true(which I highly doubt) he should certainly not be going hungry while receiving $1000.00 a month.

    Mare Cromwell – 3:21pm
    Such insightful responses here… Thank you all. FB is truly an amazing community…

    PH – 3:38pm
    Mare, this is a difficult situation, and I applaud your efforts to resolve it. The medical arguments regarding heart issues are very loud, well-entrenched, and very scary – D’s medical situation is similar to the physical issues my husband faced, and so I can relate D’s neediness to what I’ve seen before.

    There is a helplessness and dependency that I believe can come along with the disease and make it difficult to see other solutions, especially when you combine it with the Christianist dogma of putting all your responsibility onto Jesus.

    That’s NOT to say that what you said was wrong – i just see the context he’s working with, and it’s a grade-A stinker…. Read More

    It’s possible that he may not “get” the lesson you offered – and you served both yourself and him by offering it. If he is determined to live, he will find a way to get the help he needs. I see hope in that he’s reaching out in a long shot – at least he’s thinking creatively. With your nudge, he may arrive at the right answer.

    Mare – 9:30pm
    thanks, Phila… It’s a tough situation… and tough to know if it was real too… internet being what it is these days…

    KH – 9:54pm
    Maybe this is a test of his faith.

Leave a Reply

