Spirit, God-Woundedness and Healing

I was talking with a friend yesterday about spirit and healing. And the deep woundedness that a sin-based type of religion can promote…

And I’ve been mulling this concept of a Spirit healing and the woundedness from some Christian churches’ dogma this morning, prompted by this conversation yesterday. This is a major part of the healing that needs to take place, in my mind, culturally. So I revisited this author, Marcus Borg, and some of the info on the web about him this morning. Borg is an academic based out in Oregon who has done extensive research and created some fascinating reading based on historical documents. I read several of his books several winters ago (when I was doing major book writing and thinking all winter), but he’s got quite a few out. His tone and conclusions are more spiritual than some of the other historical Jesus researchers, such as Bart Erhman.

I loved reading Borg’s books. One is called “Jesus: A New Vision” and the other is “Meeting Jesus Again for the First Time – The Historical Jesus & the Heart of Contemporary Faith”. In “Meeting Jesus Again…” he actually talks about how Jesus was a shaman and in that time in Israel practically each village had a shaman who did things such as exorcisms and healings. But Jesus’s abilities were far greater than other village shamans. That really tripped me out when I read that. (because I study with a shaman… ;~)

Anyhow.. Here’s an interesting link to some of Borg’s thinking. What excites me and compels me to write this, this morning, is that is this is the type of thinking and set of beliefs that I would love to see more of – so we’re not caught up in any one set of beliefs but are embracing the mystical/spiritual traditions of different belief systems. Not dogma, mind you. But the core mystical centers… The language I’ve learned with my Native American teacher is Earth –centered and based on a firm belief in a planetary caretaker and shamanic consciousnesses… But it is all spirit.

http://www.aportraitofjesus.org/spirit1.shtml

Anyhow… I’m going rather deep here with some thoughts on a Sunday morning. I really want to give my mind a break, and make some hot pepper jelly and play a little today.. ;~) whoo-hoo!

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Cherokee, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Society Ills, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

