Fun=Spiritual=Good Book Event, 9/26/09

Up very early. It’s a Sunday morning and normally I would sleep in later. But not so this morning. Then again, I went to bed early last night since I was so exhausted.

I had the most fun book event yesterday at Constellation Books in Reisterstown. My book came out in 2002 and I’ve done literally hundreds of book events since then. But yesterday afternoon’s “Tea with the Author” was, bar none, the most silly and goofy and serious and profound all wrapped up together into a really splendid afternoon event. Makes me wonder why all of my book events were not like this? (Some of them were very tough when I had to ask fundamentalists to leave me alone…)

Three people showed up yesterday. Turned out they were regulars at the bookstore. A guy named Steve and a couple. All three are buddies and are open spiritual believers who attend the Methodist Church literally across the street. But Steve also visits a Unitarian Church and several other churches on a rotating basis. I think Steve’s real spiritual community is Constellation Books for it seems that he and the husband buddy live at the bookstore half the time, before the men’s group mtgs at the Methodist church, book discussion groups etc.

We covered the gamut yesterday. Julia Childs. Michael Phelps. (One of the guys asked me if I had had a chance to go up and feel Michael’s pectoral muscles yet. Or his swimming trunks – since I told them I swim at Meadowbrook, which Michael now co-owns and is his Baltimore base of training. I told them –no. Much as that would be a nice adventure… ;~)

We did also talk about God. And Religion and Spirituality.  And Religion and Spirituality. And the Holy Trinity. And death – and how hard it is to support someone who has lost someone, especially a child. And how there have been a number of prophets/great spiritual teachers who were born of a virgin birth, and died close to the end of Dec date of Christmas. Osiris, for one. I can’t remember the others. But the Pale One in the Native American culture, who was a very powerful spiritual teacher, was said to have been born of a virgin birth. (Dhyani Ywahoo writes about him in her book, Voices of Our Ancestors.)

But more than anything, we joked and laughed and listened to each other. And respected each other and, while I can’t speak for the others, I certainly walked away feeling like the entire afternoon was a celebration of life and spirit. And that, to me, is about as good as any high mass could offer.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Earth Mother, earth spirituality, fun, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

