the sea – i drink it up

i drink it up


i go to the sea

to drink it up

til I bubble over

soul sweet taste of

ecstasy.

12/6/09

Gillespie Beach, New Zealand

Mare

The muse came over me as I was leaving (via the dirt 12 km road) Gillespie Beach on the West Coast of the South Island. This beach is just beyond the town close to Fox Glacier. It’s a remarkable shoreline in that there is no sand really but stones that cover the whole beach. Stones that are beaten and worn and kissed by the waves incessant movement. I could have brought the whole beach home with me. The stones were so lovely and their wave-worn smoothness and highlighted striations are remarkable. I sat there on a large driftwood log next to the waves and picked through the stones at my feet. And blessed out. It was difficult to leave.

Several pounds of them did make it back with me, regardless. ;~)

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in nature, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the sea – i drink it up

  1. Phila says:

    It sounds like a profound experience, Mare – I’m reminded of my visit to Trinity Bay/Bonavista in Newfoundland, where Chris and I visited an untouched island where dying whales had beached themselves for centuries. The forest came right down to the stony beach, which looked like it was made of malachite chunks, mixed with bleached and worn bone fragments. We felt as if we’d stepped completely out of time.
    Two of those stones are on my desk as I write this…;-)
    Phila

  2. Hi Phila,
    That island sounds like a sacred place for the whales… very sacred. Truly it was an honor to be there. I imagine the whales knew to go there to die and this was part of their ‘culture’. I wonder if other whales circled the island for a few days to honor those whose time had come. Beautiful sharing, thanks! And I love that you have two of those stones with you still… touched by whale medicine. Certainly… m

Leave a Reply

