Stopping by Tree on a Snowy Evening (with apologies to Robert Frost)- poem by mare

Deep gratitude to National Geographic for this image.

Deep gratitude to National Geographic for this image.

Stopping by Tree on a Snowy Evening
(with apologies to Robert Frost)

Whose tree this is, I think I know,
he lives up high in a lofty bough.
In warmer months, he makes a nest,
or is that his mate, I can only guess.
They scamper on my roof with glee,
sometimes another pest they flee.

Leaping, cavorting, agile they are,
from my bird feeders, they’re never far.
Tonight I wonder with the snow so deep,
do these furry neighbors find some sleep?
They’re probably hunkered down across,
tucked in a log lined with moss,

Awaiting the dawn and scramble for food.
Will I be in a charitable mood?
For, you see, truth is, they eat too much.
These squirrels enjoy a perpetual lunch.
My birdseed stores never last that long,
thanks to furry friends with such appetites strong.

They ravage the seeds, outcompete the birds,
no matter how much I yell out profane words.
But this one night of such snowy cold,
I might, just might, all my stinginess fold.
And extend my stores of various bird seeds,
to meet my fellow squirrels’ great needs.

No Scrooge am I in sharing the trees,
the yard even, probably some fleas,
that is, my cats at times, not me’s.
So feed them, I shall, in winter’s deep freeze.

by mare, blizzard 2010, Feb, baltimore

edited and Squirrel image discovered, blizzard 2014, New Market, MD.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, nature mystic, empathic intuitive healer (with shamanic influences) and international speaker. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty years and is currently on hiatus from the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary behind the Great Mother Wisdom Gathering (Maryland, 2014). She loves to be involved in Ceremony. Mare is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in nature, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stopping by Tree on a Snowy Evening (with apologies to Robert Frost)- poem by mare

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks!

  2. Hey compaero, realmente tenido gusto este poste. Can’ t parece conseguirlo para dar formato a la derecha en Internet Explorer, se dobla todo para arriba, pero no trabaja muy bien en Firefox tan ninguna preocupacin.

  3. I wish my spanish was better. I’m not exactly sure what you are saying… but thanks for stopping by regardless. ;~)

  4. you are very welcome.. that poem was fun to write… ;~)

  5. Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search. 🙂

  6. oh, that’s funny! I wonder what your search was for, and how my poem surfaced? Thanks to Google for their idiosyncrasies. Hope you enjoyed the poem too… ;~)
    m

Leave a Reply

