Mindfulness and Sacred Hot Chocolate-cicles

I have come to the realization that half of the projects around the house are created by my being spacy and not mindful and/or grounded in the moment.

Take the event in my kitchen about half an hour ago. I wanted to reheat some homemade hot chocolate that had been in a small saucepan in the frig overnight. So I put it on the stove, turned on the heat AND the oven timer to remind me that it was heating up there… and then promptly went down in the basement. Whereupon in the basement, I realized the lint filter on the hose from the washer needed replacing, the kitty litter changing, the worm condo checking, and next blanket washing. (Yes, I have a worm condo in my basement.)

So, I’m scooping up kitty poops in the far corner of the basement and out of a corner of an ear, I hear a faint buzzing. Very faint. This was after the lint filter and worm and blanket details had been covered. And so I rise up from the poop-scooping like a phoenix from her ashes, and shift to the bottom of the basement steps. There I detect a funny burnt chocolate aroma that is almost pleasant but not quite.

Instantly it hits me that I’ve left the hot chocolate on and it’s sure enough hot by now, and the buzzer has been going off for an extra five minutes at least. Starting to run upstairs, I catch the bemused expression of my cat who has been watching me in the basement wondering when I’m going to get a clue about the situation that is getting more interesting in the kitchen.

And there on the stove is my small saucepan with hot chocolate-cicles, I kid you not, hanging on the bottom of the pot half an inch or more above a pool of smoky hot chocolate building up in size by the second in the stove burner pan. (I have gas range and stove.) And hardened hot chocolate is splattered all over the stove and nearby counter and… well… let’s just say that I knew in a millisecond that I was not going to be enjoying that cup of almond, vanilla, cinnamon flavored cocoa made with organic cacao and fresh milk (not organic, sorry) that hour.

No. I was going to spend the next half an hour soaking and scrubbing and drinking in the delicious burnt chocolate aroma that was wafting through my house. Truth be told, the pot is still soaking right now in another pot to cover the damages inside and outside the pot. I’ll try to get to it tonight.

And all because I simply forgot. My busy beaver brain wafted onto the blanket, kitty poops, worm shangrila/condo, and various other scattered brain details that have my brain feeling like a whirling dervish at times – and not a whirling dervish at peace.

I was not mindful. I was not present. I forgot to focus on the hot chocolate heating situation. The Sacred Food of the Gods – Theobroma – chocolate drink that I was relishing drinking for the rest of the morning was not going to grace my Sunday morning. Sigh. I can only hope that this burning at the stove does not make my morning any less sacred. I guess writing this can only help resonate more divine energies instead. ;~)

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in fun, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mindfulness and Sacred Hot Chocolate-cicles

  1. cordieb says:

    So, I imagine your mind was off somewhere, in the future, in the past, or simply in dreamland or fantasy as you cleaned the kitty poop (It’s how we get through unpleasant tasks, we put our minds elsewhere) – so far away that you weren’t aware of the buzzer. Happens to me all the time. . . 🙂

    Although many say we are not being fully present, some aspects in life could be very unpleasant, painful, or just simply too boring if we remained fully present at all moments. Aware is good; but being able to come out of the present for me is one of life’s many blessings.

    Thanks for sharing…

    I found you through allspirit.

    Peace, Light and Love,

    C.

  2. Hi,
    Thanks for your beautiful note here. I love the allspirit listserv and the poetry in the morning is a more than uplifting way to start the day.

    And I like your thought about being able to come out of the present — as a blessing. I’m going to ponder this.

    thx!
    m

  3. ahh the art of mindfulness in a world of multi-tasking..
    –perhaps the burned chocolate served a higher purpose than it would have by just being consumend–and obviously enjoyed–it got you ‘thinking’ about be-ing present, in the moment, and awareness–Do you think you’ll ever forget the burned chocolate?
    Oh and I love that you noted your cat–cat well aware of things being out of balance via the buzzing timer and scent of heating cocoa…
    Enjoyed this piece very much.

  4. thank you… this is good wisdom you share… thank you… ;~)

Leave a Reply

