Puffballs and the Omnivore’s Dilemma

Puffballs and the Omnivore’s Dilemma

It’s the oddest thing. Several days ago I noticed several small mushrooms growing right at the base of my front steps. They seemed to be taking advantage of a bit of shade from my ‘ginormous’ pot of pepperment. After two days, I could tell they were puffballs. They were cute and seemed to add to the eclecticness of my yard and garden.

Yesterday, my lawn guy came by to do the semi-regular mowing and weedwhacking and edging and I pointed out the puffballs, looking so vulnerable and pitiful off my walkway and asked him to leave them, please. He knows me well and rolled his eyes and agreed. He’s taken care of my yard for going on three years now and actually scouts the whole yard out before he turns on the mower so he won’t mow over any creeping, or weeping or adventurous stems that have fallen into the grass from an unkempt bed. I asked him on Day 1 if he would just mow around these plant friends who choose to make a straight garden edge obsolete.

But I digress.

So, I asked Angel (from Peru) to leave the puffballs and inform him that they are edible. Whereupon, he picks up some half-eaten pieces that were a couple feet away from the ones near my step and looks at me questionly. Yep. You can eat them, I assure him. So he puts a couple of pieces in the cab of his truck. And I realize that gosh darn it, I should think about eating them too.

So I had fried puffball from the bottom of my front porch steps for breakfast this morning. They were yummy…. Like eating an earthy, pungent (somewhat salty from the butter) gourmet food for breakfast. And all I did was walk to the bottom of my steps to harvest them. How much more locavore can you get? ;~)

I write this as I finish reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan. I think I’m the last enviro type to read it. But there are times that I’m a bit slow about things. Oh well.

The third section of the book, where I am now, is all about Michael’s desire to hunt, collect, forage, pick, plunder (maybe not plunder) etc. a meal from meat to vegetable to saprophyte (mushroomy stuff). I have not finished this section yet.

The funny thing is that maybe there is some weird synchronicity between Michael’s book and my puffballs. And Michael’s exquisitely written text about the wisdom of eating local and organic – together, compared with the large organic foods sourced from CAFO’s and huge industrialized yet organic operations in places like California – makes complete sense.

Of course it makes sense. It’s also what we as Homo sapiens have done for millennia and millennia. And at the rate things are going.. may be forced to do that with no choice as we move through Peak Oil to Beyond Peak Oil and – heck… There’s so much fear mongering out there about all these environmental trends and doomsday prophets, I don’t want to add to it.

All I can tell you is that I’m excited that I had puffballs from my front porch area this morning. They were really delectable. And now I’m drinking limeade from… let’s get that container. Oh, what the heck. It’s distributed out of Minnesota but they don’t grow limes in Minnesota (don’t think so!). The limes are from somewhere. And I’ve put fresh sprigs of mint from my pot next to the puffballs into my limeade.

And there you have it. A locavore mixed with ‘planetivore’ Omnivore’s Dilemma breakfast, from someone who chooses to not lose sleep over the dilemma piece of it all.

I think I might have more puffball for breakfast tomorrow morning. :~)

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Environmental Issues, fun, gardening, nature, Sacred Gardening Journal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Puffballs and the Omnivore’s Dilemma

  1. Pingback: The Omnivores Dilemma |

  2. You raise a very good point. I hadn’t considered that before. Great post!

  3. I am so glad I don’t eat all that processed food anymore. Having my own garden and feeding my family from it has been very healthy for us.

  4. Interesting point! I entirely agree. Well stated.

Leave a Reply

