Spiritually Open, Emails from China, Sigh… Just pls leave me Alone

Sometimes it is really tough to be so spiritually open. And to have a book out that is so spiritually open. I was very tested out in bookstores and radio talk shows, etc., while promoting my book in 2002-2003. Some people with very rigid views of God and Spirituality and Religion were offended by my book and let me know in no uncertain terms that they were. But I kinda thought that was back in the past and since I’m not actively trying to do anything with my book other than dust off the boxes of them in my basement (just kidding), I would not get anymore people trying to debate with me or convert me.

Then this email came in my inboxes yesterday. (Both of my email addresses!) I recognized the name of the person. He/she emailed me on the Authors Den website a couple of years ago with a similar thread of communication.

[email exchange – 10/4/10]

胡以利亞 xxxx@hotmail.com

{CRITICAL} Ask Question

[mare note: this email was also flagged by the writer as of highest priority in the email system, a big red “!” attached to it.]

Dear Mare,

I am a Extremely Devout Godly Biblical Unitarian Christian and  I want to ask two question, 1.Could I ask what is emergency contact number of God(YAHWEH\YEHOWAH), 2.Could I ask what is God’s non emergency contact number ? because I want to dial his emergency number to phone Him next ask Him why He doesn’t answer my prayer in Chinese(Standard Mandarin) and attend my physical needs ?

Sincerely,

Shun-Ren Hu

[So I thought I would respond at least once to this person to give him or her some respect for his or her effort in emailing me. The message communication with the same person several years ago on the author website was not so positive so I hesitated responding at all. But then it felt right to respond in some way, sharing what my beliefs really are about Calling God – which to me is tuning into your personal Godspace wisdom to hear divine wisdom.]

From: Mare

To: Shun-Ren Hu

Hi,

Try dialing “0”.

And then hang up the phone… And find a place to meditate/pray…. And I assure you that if you are very intent on tuning into God (and your personal Godspace), that you will have success.

Please, this is all that I can share with you. You do not need to respond to me again. (I know you tried to reach me through the Authors Den website also.)

I wish you the best,
Mare

From: Shun-Ren Hu

Dear Mare,

I’m a Extremely Devout Godly Biblical Unitarian Christian and I want to ask another question, Every one has their views of the Father [Almighty LORD\GOD (YAHUWEH\YEHOWAH God)] but Could I ask why did you said the Almighty(YaHuWeH\YeHoWaH) is an energy , if God is an energy force, What is the Extremely Big Hand that creating and holding the Planet Earth for ? because I only believe the Father[Almighty LORD\GOD (YAHUWEH|YEHOWAH God)] is an Old Man with beard has Infinited SuperHuman Powers\Abilities.

Sincerely,
Shun-Ren Hu

[I did not respond.]

[another email from this person two minutes later.]

Dearest Mare,

you said dialing zeros, But Could I ask how many zeros, ten or twelve ?

Sincerely,
Shun-Ren Hu

[I did not respond again. And thankfully… no more emails.]

Sigh.

This is what I would have liked to have truly said to Shun-Ren Hu.

Dear 胡以利亞 xxxx@hotmail.com,

I’m sorry that you seem to have taken offense by my book and my website where one of the people whom I interviewed is quoted on the home page by talking about God as an energy. I’m sorry that you don’t seem to understand that my book is not just me but a collection of folks from very different places in life, in their beliefs and worldviews all talking about God.

I’m sorry that you feel the need to email me and try to debate with me about your version of God vs my version of God. Or John Terlazzo’s version of God. (the man quoted on my home page of my book website –www.tocallgod.net.)

I’m just really really sorry. Sorry that I feel that I cannot respond to you without your trying to take the debate deeper and really trying to make me and my book wrong. I sense strongly that that is where this is would have gone, if I had.

Sigh.

I’m sorry. And sad…

…about how God has become a way for people to make each other wrong. Each other evil in the eyes of the other. And it seems that the dominant religions in the world have folks in their midst (fundamentalists, they are called) who are hell-bent (and I don’t use that term lightly) on making chaos and suffering a reality because of their Godviews – compared with another group’s Godviews.

9/11. Israel and the rest of the Arab World. How Native Peoples have been treated around the world for centuries and centuries – “ignorant savages” to name one term. Oh, the list is so so long.

And honestly, I’m very sorry.  And I grieve for those who get caught in the cross-fire. The children and women killed in battle or suicide bombers, or Wall Street Traders and their administrative staff whose remains have never been discovered. Never. And now their families are fighting to have all those building remains, rubble, dust treated with proper respect and in a sacred way. Millions of tons of waste from the crumbling towers now sitting in a landfill in N.J.

Dust to dust… Sigh. Even dust is sacred. And the truth is that it has always been sacred, if you do believe that God is everywhere and in everything and we are all a part of God.

But if you believe as Shun-Ren Hu does that God instead has a big hand and is controlling everything and will come down and SMITE people like me – then maybe, just maybe that is why there are so many folks who are being SMITED and bombed, and murdered.

I’ve chosen to believe that God is not a Smiter. I do believe in Christ. Deeply believe and hold great great love for Christ. And I long, so so long to have known him and walked with Him or him. (Not sure about the capitals there, honestly).

My Cherokee teacher has taught me so much about Christ and the Christ spirit and the incredible divine Love that Christ carries, carries still as the Being that he is. Does that make me a Christian too? If I can be a Christian who is not a Smiter-God type, I’ll go with that. I honestly don’t think that Christ was the Smiter-God type either. Really don’t. But now, don’t go and harrass me with emails about that statement please.

But cheesh. All of these labels. All of this anger from people who are attached to their Labels.

All I know… is yesterday. And still today. Is that I want to be left alone to my beliefs. And my sacred Godspace to continue to deeply feel and know and love the Divine. A Divine space that is not trying to make someone believe exactly like me. Not trying to email someone in China or Lower Slobovia (I use Lower Slobovia because as a young Catholic girl, we prayed for the children in Lower Slobovia everynight. I never knew where they were… or what exactly was their suffering. But I still prayed.  We could have been praying for children in downtown Baltimore. They needed the prayers as much as the Lower Slobovian kids. But it was kinda exotic to think we were sending prayer energy to kids on the other side of the world. And this was what my parents were taught to pray so we did it.)

But gosh, darn it. There is that Energy question again.

I’ve gotta stop here.

Otherwise, there is another book just started here and I don’t have the time for that now.

– here’s to finding our own individual Godspaces…

-m

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Society Ills, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spiritually Open, Emails from China, Sigh… Just pls leave me Alone

  1. Cordieb says:

    Hi -m

    Personally, I think you should have sent the second letter. It truely revealed your true thoughts and your truths, and to me, the unsent version was more loving and Godlike than replying to the emailer to dial 0. I personally agree that God is an energy, but such a strong energy that he, it, she, whatever, can still be an old man too…or a baby, or rose…it’s very personal and certainly such a force can’t be boxed into one thing or another.

    In general, do find some compassion for your emailer….he or she seems to be reaching out for compassion. (Just my little observation and suggestion. 🙂

    But for me today, since I’m feeling some kind of way, not quite sure what this feeling is…I think I will take your advice and dial 0 and ask for divine guidance to help me feel more intune to God’s love.

    Peace, Light and Love,
    -C

  2. Cordie – thanks for your msg. You’re probably right… I could have shown more compassion. I do get too triggered by these types of people (got another email today from China. Same wording!). At the same time, the energy behind the email does not feel sincere but one of trying to irritate me.

    You know, I definitely believe in past lives and have a very strong sense that I was persecuted by Christians a number of times. sigh. Millions of women died during the middle ages because they were into healing and herbs and the Christians shut them down, in horrific ways. So I strongly suspect that this is where my knee-jerk reaction comes from to a large degree. sigh…

    hope you’re feeling more divine connection since your msg was written. “0”, by the way, is a sacred number, very sacred to Native People’s. I don’t quite understand it but it has to do with the circle and quantum physics and the sacredness of life… all fascinating. So dialing “0” really does have some significance, my dialing God thing. ;~)

    hugs to you,
    m

  3. Thanks for writing this great blog.. it gives me a lot of insight on the topic. I’ve added this page to my favorites for further reference.

  4. Phil Galfond says:

    Fantastic post, I really look forward to updates from you.

  5. bet365 says:

    hi I was luck to find your website in wordpress
    your Topics is terrific
    I learn a lot in your topic really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you site is really exceptional
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

