Garden Blessings & Fall Colors – photo by Timothy Dicke

Another stunning shot by Timothy Dicke. This is such a bittersweet time for me as I put my clients’ gardens to bed and my own shabby gardens to bed (as best as I can — they get last priority in my busy life, sigh)…  But the fall colors and the crispness in the air makes me feel so alive.

Deep gratitude to the Earth and her blessings on us for another beautiful season of flowers and veggies and wonderful healing time sitting on her ground and soaking up the Love the Earth has put forth to bring us into existence… ah… blessings.

On Monday at the end of the afternoon, as the light was waning, my buddy, Kidada and I finished up all the beds at our largest clients’ property. And it is such a beautiful property on top of a huge hill in Baltimore County. And it struck me that it was only right to do ceremony at the very end of the day, in the cooler shadows of dusk. So Kidada and I did a prayer to Creator and Earth Mother and started in one corner of the expansive property and just blessed everything as we went around all the beds, a final kiss for the season, so to speak. And then at the end of making the circle, we stopped and I put some tobacco down on the ground to thank all the plant beings and other beings that live and support the beauty on the property and made a little stone altar of five stones and did one final thank you to all there. It was beautiful and powerful and I was in an altered spiritual state from it.

And the very final thing I did was to go up to the amazing Blue Atlas Cedar on the property, a huge huge tree, probably one of the biggest Blue Atlas Cedars in the state. It dominates the property and seems to act as a guardian of the property screening who drives beyond a certain point in the drive and who does not. Most errant cars turn around before they get past the tree. This tree is the energy center of the property and I talk with it often, and often it gives me very wise advice. Yes, I hear the tree’s communications back to me at times. And that evening it told me that “with the closings there are always openings”. The tree does not say a whole lot or babble. Instead she gives me simple straightforward truths. Several months ago she simply said “You are not always right. You silly Two-Leggeds.”  (I was grappling with some group process and ego stuff at that time…)

So blessings and deep deep gratitude to you, my Tree-friend too. Thank you for another beautiful gardening season.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Animal Spirit Medicine, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, gardening, nature, Sacred Gardening Journal, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

