A Cliff Walk In North Devon When I Was Twelve – poem by Elizabeth Jennings

A Cliff Walk In North Devon When I Was Twelve

 


I was walking along a cliff,

It was late afternoon and a cool wind blew my hair,

Below was the casual sea in its commotions,

In and out, out and in as if

It would catch out the very tides.

I could see the wet sand and slowly appearing pools

Where my grandfather caught netfuls of prawns while we,

My sister and I, caught four or five between us.

But that day I was happy alone and walking along

The high cliff. I breathed the healing salt,

Stared at the sea moving and suddenly had

Such a sense of exaltation,

Such certainty that all was well with the world

And I was one with, at ease with everything,

Reconciled to the humdrum hurts of life,

Knowing for certain that some invisible Power

Had fashioned the turning seas and the tides and moon

And made me for some purpose as yet unknown

But something, however small or large it was,

Only I could achieve but need not hurry.

No, must not hurry but move in accord with tide,

Collecting the changing moons, being grateful and glad

That for a moment or two I could see creation

Planned and purposed and somehow achieved by love.

~

Elizabeth Jennings

from New and Collected Poems

Amen…

;~)

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Cliff Walk In North Devon When I Was Twelve – poem by Elizabeth Jennings

  1. Vida says:

    I love your poem about North Devon – I used to live in North Devon and really loved it. Best wishes and hope to see more North Devon poems!
    Vida

  2. Hi Vida,
    Thank you. Do you know the poet, Elizabeth Jennings? She is the creator of that poem and I find her very gifted.

    All the best!
    Mare

  3. John Lott says:

    I used to walk along the track to Baggy Point and, indeed, I commissioned a local artist to paint the view… but to the present and a line from the poem
    “Reconciled to the humdrum hurts of live,”

    Do we not read this as ‘life’?

    J.

  4. John,
    I honestly don’t know what the correct word is and could read it either way. I copied the poem as it was transcribed into another listserv. But now that you have asked, I will go back to the original person who posted it and ask that person.

    thanks for pointing it out.
    m

    ps. it sounds as if this is a very stunning place. May I have the gift of walking it some day myself!

  5. Ashley says:

    My apologies, it should read ‘life’. Also two lines down the sea should be ‘turning’ not ‘tuning’.

    The cliffs of North Devon are my fav. place on earth, hope you do get to visit. Google – Lynton Valley of the Rocks – for a glimpse

  6. Hi Ashley —
    Thanks for getting back to me and thank you for catching the edits. ;~)

    Please keep on sending the poetry!
    all the best,
    mare

  7. John Lott says:

    Replies to my query received from Ashley & Mare

    Many thanks for the trouble to check this out guys.

    Kind Regards

    John

    p.s. I have some poems on my blogsite http://mumblings1.blogspot.com
    #7 was dreamt up while walking by Okehampton Tor and #8 from Wistman’s Wood

Leave a Reply

