Aurora Borealis… Stunning… Inspiration

This is quite astounding cinematography of the Aurora Borealis — from Norway filmed by Terje Sorgjerd.

http://vimeo.com/21294655

 

And earlier in the week, the BBC website had a clip about tourism to see the Northern Lights in Yellowknife in Northern Canada.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/fast_track/9432314.stm

 

These videos bring back such powerful memories of when I worked as a park ranger in Alaska at Denali National Park and witnessed the Northern Lights in the middle of the night when I was getting off shift from the check station on the park road. The sheer energy of the light show inspired me to write my first poem… it just erupted me in minutes after watching the lights stream across the sky.

 

Northern Fairies

 

I believe I saw some fairies outside

tempting me to come out and play

to dance among the stars and touch the clouds.

 

They swirled before my eyes

a motion of light swaying and growing

separating themselves from each other

 

a ballet of prisms and glows…

 

I turned away for a mere second

and they were dissipating

 

the last dancers were moving away…

 

”  come away with us  ”  they echoed

 

”   come play…    come play  ”

 

“I want to”  I sighed

 

To shed my earthly garb and transcend myself

into the stars to dance

among the soft hues of light…

 

But they had left

 

to prepare for the next call and again

display their graceful forms onto the dark northern sky.

 

 

 

1982

alaska

mare cromwell

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in earth spirituality, fun, Photography, Poetry, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aurora Borealis… Stunning… Inspiration

  1. Anonymous says:

    This is the second entry I read tonight. And I am on my third. Got to think which one is next. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

