On the Rapture and Loving the Earth

Weeping Cherry (c) Mare Cromwell

I was thinking about the Rapture this morning while driving on the highway at 8am. Today is supposed to be the day. May 21, 2011, according to some.

Some cars on the highway were flying by at close to 85-90 mph, and I stayed calmly to the right lane. Perhaps these drivers were headed to their church parking lots to wait all day for their rising to the Heavens? I’m not sure. Seemed to me that they were kinda dangerous on the road while the rest of us were going about our highway driving in a mostly safe manner.

So this is what I pondered as I drove the concrete corridor that encircles Baltimore. I love the Earth. I feel very connected with the Earth. And when my soul passes on and leaves my corporal body, then I want my body to stay here and feed the Earth just as she fed me. I’d like my bones, sinews (whatever is left of them), blood… all of it to go back to Earth. It would be really cool to have some of my basement pet worms in my worm condo added to the top layer of the soil when I’m buried just to help in the process.

I want to stay here, as far as my physicality goes. The Earth has taken care of me so so much. All the wonderful chocolate, latte’s, ice cream, sushi, beautiful flowers, trees to embrace and mountains to climb. Even the grittier parts of Baltimore have their own aesthetic that I appreciate. Why would I want my body lifted up away out of here when I feel as if the least I can do is feed the Earth back what is left of my physical shell?

Honestly, I feel so loved by the Earth. And my body is a gift back to her.

Now that I really think about it, I live in Rapture of the Earth most days when I can surrender to that Bliss space. Being in beautiful gardens puts me there, on a beautiful spring day such as this. Just sitting on the ground and tuning in to all the beautiful garden energies and stunning flowers that sing so loudly some days.

I guess I’m choosing this type of Rapture, that happens to me somewhat often over a one-day phenomenon that would take me away from my Home. This planet Earth is a pretty cool Home. I’ll stay here.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Environmental Issues, gardening, God, nature, Sacred Gardening Journal, Society Ills, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

