Leanings, Learnings and Leaning away from Roundup- pls Folks!

Well, I was going to blog this morning about some spiritual realizations that I’m discovering.

Something about learning that “leaning into a question” in order to find the answer, may work better as leaning away from the question to allow it to surface as an answer or resolution on its own… surrendering to the question instead of forcing it to ‘answer itself’ on my terms and my timeline. Rather a teaching on letting go, and trusting… and just pulling back into my ever evolving tiny pool of stillness.  Kinda like “let go and let God” wisdom…

That’s what I was going to ruminate about…

But – I’d like to focus on this article from the Huffington Post instead. I just discovered this, this morning, thanks to some very aware amazing friends on FaceBook.

Roundup Birth Defects: Regulators Knew World’s Best-Selling Herbicide Causes Problems, New Report Finds

And my terse response is: ‘Crap.”

I say ‘Crap’, not because I don’t believe this research. I do and it’s scary. For one – it’s scary because giving your unborn fetus birth defects, not to mention promoting soil pathogens and plant disease, etc, are terrible things. And there are probably millions and millions of people who have used it, and and many did not read the label properly or could not read label since they speak and read Spanish and not the English on the label. And they have unconsciously absorbed the toxins. And many probably gave birth to kids with some issues related to the chemicals in their embryonic stage.

And two – it’s really scary how much info has been kept hidden so corporate stockholders and CEO types can sell a product to make a profit, and intentionally poison folks, and the environment. I mean, come on!  What kind of person intentionally sells poison while telling the public that it’s not poison or rather hiding the facts from the public that show that it’s poison. How does that person sleep at night, or committee of people sleep at night?  Seems to me that there are a lot of people out there who should NOT be sleeping at night, at all. But how come they can — sleep? How can they keep making these decisions to hide the facts from from us — the research evidence that this stuff is dangerous, folks, and maybe we should not make it or sell it, or use it, or even think about it. Or even think about creating more poisons that kill life — the very life that is supposed to be serving us, helping us live and breathe and have healthy plants so we can eat and thrive. And maybe even more than thrive, maybe choose to wake up to a higher self that KNOWS that hiding evidence of birth defects in Roundup – THE MOST WIDELY USED HERBICIDE IN THE WORLD – is just plain WRONG! Ethically… morally… WRONG.
Oh. I’m starting to rant here… not sure if that is a good thing. But there is more I have to say. I have to.

And three – there is a third  reason here that I wrote “crap” up there. And that is because I am a professional gardener. My gardening business is taking care of professionally landscaped gardens in very nice neighborhoods. I weed, I prune and have amazing assistants who help me do this. And I have a commitment to doing it all organically. My clients know this and they honor it for the most part. (Though I’m getting some subtle pressure to use some nasty Rose systemic stuff to help treat the plethora of diseases that Roses get, and I’m resisting… a quiet yet certain resistance on that one area. My client has now bought 5 jugs of this systemic stuff hoping that I might notice the jugs sitting on the garden shelf in the garage. She so wants her roses to be stunning. Sigh.

Btw, Roses are a pain in the butt to grow, if you want to do it organically. Get the Knock-out types and let them fend for themselves. They’re bred to be extremely hardy…

Anyhow I digress a bit about the Roses. But here’s the thing. There is CANADIAN THISTLE  on this one very large client’s property. The only thing that kills it is ROUNDUP and even that is not a permanent solution since the roots still stay alive under the soil after repeated Roundup treatments. I know. I’ve tried.

So last summer I took an approach that a fellow colleague in the gardening/landscaping industry shared with me. I applied the CONCENTRATED ROUNDUP (no water dilution to usual applied solution), got rubber gloves and dipped the gloves into the CONCENTRATED STUFF and rubbed it on the underside of each plant in a largish bed.  I got about about 20 sq feet done and did not really care at first that some of the STUFF was getting on my skin above the rubber gloves from the edge of the bucket. I kept on hitting the underside of my arm on the side of the bucket when I dipped my hand into the CRAP.

But then, I started to not feel so great. Kinda woozy and lightheaded. And I realized that maybe this whole approach to using CONCENTRATED CRAP called Roundup was not so smart for me. So I stopped and told the clients that I could not deal with the Roundup there, and the growing bed of Thistle that was getting a wee bit out of control. And it took me three days to start to feel normal again. I took lots of alfalfa and some other herbs to encourage the toxins to leave my system. There is probably still some in my fatty tissues. I’m certain there is — along with all the rest of the cocktail soup that our society has spewed into the environment for decades and decades – DDT, PCB’s, etc… we’re all carrying this CRAP in our systems. Can’t avoid it… called ENTROPY  at work, sigh.

The good news, if there is any, is that I’m not planning to have any children. I’m beyond that stage in my life. And truth be told, was one of those women who never felt that strong an urge to have any progeny, anyway. That’s another story…  ;~)

The bad news, is that – well, there is a lot of bad news. My clients still use the Roundup on their property (I just sent them the link to this article though). There is nothing out there that can kill CANADIAN THISTLE, really… that does not kill or poison a bunch of other stuff – that I know of. Maybe goats? Not sure. And if Goats do work on Canadian Thistle, not sure if my clients would appreciate me bring a truck of goats to their property. Hmmm… love the image… the reality might not work though. ;~)

But these homeowners don’t want this scourge of a weed in their garden. Thank god it’s not in my garden. Roundup is the only thing that kinda makes a dent and temporarily kills the plant on the herbicide end, so the garden beds look okay for a short while. Believe me, I know. I’ve worked with it. For years, unfortunately. Sigh.

Crap. Crap. Crap…

Well, there is a wee bit more of good news here. That is that we are doing a big sheet mulching strategy right now in this garden area where I toxified myself last summer. We’re getting boatloads of cardboard and mulch to put on top of the cardboard, and we’re trying to suffocate the damn invasive. ‘Scuse my French, but Thistle drives me to curse. (Not drink though! ;~)

As for the corporate executives at Monsanto… I honestly wonder how dark they really are to continue to create such nasty chemicals and terrorize farmers with their intimidation tactics, and world domination of agrochemical, industrial approaches. I don’t really want to know. It scares me. It really scares me…

And I actually need to get out the door shortly. That very same garden described above is calling me. And I need to confirm with my assistant that he’ll be back tomorrow to help with the further cardboard, sheet mulching efforts. It’s a big area and taking a number of days.

And already one CANADIAN THISTLE  plant is growing up through the sheet mulched area done three weeks ago.

CRAP!

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Environmental Issues, gardening, nature, Society Ills, spirituality, Whoa!, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leanings, Learnings and Leaning away from Roundup- pls Folks!

  1. Lisa Middendorf says:

    Great blog today, Mare. I have a question. On stubborn weeds that come back with pulling, digging etc. , I have been using borax. I admit I haven’t done a lot of research on it, only knowing it comes from the ground, occurring naturally in the earth and is very alkaline to the point of being caustic. It does the job. Haven’t heard anything about it being toxic to the environment or water supply. Your thoughts or experience with it?

  2. Lisa,
    Gosh, I don’t know anything about Borax as a weedkiller. I’d suggest that you contact the PA cooperative extension folks and get their 2 cents on this approach. I imagine that it might impact the biota in the soil, and burn them too, since it’s so alkaline. As using vinegar would too… even diluted vinegar to some extent. But beyond that, I could not say. I really like an organic herbicide called Burn-Out, from the same company that makes the Milky Spore product for Japanese Beetles (which are just starting to show up in my garden, sigh.. another invasive critter!). Good luck! – m

  3. joeywahoo says:

    I know exactly how you feel. We farm organically and I detest Roundup. It takes many hours in the blazing sun to keep our fence lines cleared by hand, and I could solve the problem easily by spraying Roundup beneath them, but we don’t. We don’t use Roundup in our gardens of course.

    But I confess that I do sometimes–rarely, but sometimes–use it to kill poison oak. As you say, Roundup works. That’s one of the reasons it’s so scary. When I use it, it’s because I really want to kill kill kill the nasty stuff I’m using it on.

    I’m starting to get Canadian thistle in our pastures. We raise goats and, trust me, they don’t eat it. I’ve just been trying to pull it up before it goes to seed, but it is spreading. I haven’t used Roundup on it and hope I won’t ever have to, but I definitely understand your dilemma.

    Great post.

Leave a Reply

