Don’t Toss My Baby Up There! – Thoughts on the Book Writing Process from the Trenches

Easy reading is damn hard writing.

— Nathaniel Hawthorne

(thank you to WordPress for that quote this morning.)

I sit here, first day of March, and am pondering writing. Writing this book. This very book that I have been working on for ten years. And how I had thought I’d have this book done by the end of winter, this very winter. And now the crocuses are coming up outside. The robins are back here in Maryland and my sluggish winter blood that has been so conducive for cocooning in to write wants to go outside and play in the dirt. I want to party with the flowers that are poking their heads up out of the moist spring soil.

But I need to keep on writing. This book will be finished this year. Yes, it will.

Yesterday I met with my writing coach and he’s pulled the rug out from under my book outline and is encouraging me to embrace a far broader approach to this book. And I feel as if someone has yanked my baby out of me and is tossing it up in the air and not really watching where the baby might land.

And. I. Just. Need. To. Trust.

Or is this more than TRUST?

Is this an opportunity to take his ideas and start to work with them to also add my ideas, my muse, my inner voice’s direction? Time to run under that falling baby and claim her again but from a different perspective since I’ve had to budge from my former standing?

Ah, the murkiness of writing and the creative process. It’s been thick as pea soup here since my meeting with the writing coach yesterday and I’m determined to wade through this to the clarity.

I like this coach a lot. An awful lot. He’s very spiritual. Quite experienced with creating really good books. Books that are far more appealing than what I could come up with sitting alone in my wee writing closet.

So, I’m working on TRUSTING.

And now I need a big spoon to wade through the pea soup. Maybe a big long hot shower will wash the murkiness. Maybe a long, long walk to go out and talk with Mother will do it. That usually really helps.

Or better yet! Really start to play around with words and a draft outline following his vision, and see what resonates with me.

Or all of the above!

Ah… the writing process. God bless all writers. Sometimes this ain’t easy.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Toss My Baby Up There! – Thoughts on the Book Writing Process from the Trenches

  1. Elizabeth says:

    HI, Mare,
    I belatedly read this post and have compassion for you in the moment you were in back then. I always find that I need to sit back and take a little rest after an illuminating moment, maybe for one breath, maybe for a month. I find my subconscious is being healed and then it takes a little bit of time for it to work on the problem/concern anew. I have learned to trust this process, tho’ it took years to be comfortable with the process. Then one day, I just know what to do next. ust that simple. It is easy to think I have to do everything with my conscious mind. Much easier to let the subconscious and superconscious work for me as well.
    Many blessings to you on your path. You will succeed, all of the yours that there are!!!! Much love and many hugs,
    Barbara Elizabeth

  2. Hi Elizabeth,
    Thank you so much for your very kind and wise words. I think the biggest challenge is extricating my ego from the book. That is where I get upset… I’m so attached to the book and my ideas about it and my outline, etc. So as I’m getting myself out of this constricted mind box and less attached to the actual body of work itself, it has become easier.

    Honestly, I feel like I’m at the level now where I’m downloading this stuff… It’s a spiritually oriented book and it’s just being given to me to write. Just need to keep on listening and getting it down on paper. Most fun.

    Thank you for swinging by, and your kindness.
    blessings,
    mare

Leave a Reply

