More on the Sacred Feminine

[Last summer, I penned an initial definition of the Sacred Feminine for this blog but I feel called to write more about Her. I’m currently working on a book about Her and my spiritual journey. What I wrote before seems too flippant to me now and perhaps a little too angry. So here are some more reflections and a call to all of us.]

What is the Sacred Feminine?

Most of us, as women, feel a deep longing for something within ourselves that we know to be Sacred. We can feel it deep in our bones and the center of our belly, an ancient presence that has been long, long buried. It is barely something we can give a name to unless someone names it for us. We just sense that it is there and when we tune in to it, it starts to beckon to us to let it awaken.

This ‘it’ is so primal and powerful that many of us are terrified of it. To really embrace it is to change ourselves and our world around us. And change, as positive as it is, can be scary.

The more we tune in to this deep beckoning in our center, the more we realize that ‘it’ is a “She.” And “She” wants to awaken in us, to bring us to our deepest sacred self and realize ourselves in our fullest sense of who we can be.

This dormant presence within us is the seed of our Sacred Feminine. She is a powerful being of great compassion, creative force, gentleness and sweetness. She is a significant, mysterious consciousness deeply, deeply connected to the Earth. There is an ancient grounded wisdom to Her also. She knows silence, and patience, and yet can also wing thunderbolts if needed. And she is within all of us, including men, because She is the Mother of all life on the planet.

And She is eager to emerge. It is time.

Within the Western world, the great majority of us grew up in religions that embodied a powerful patriarchal deity. This God figure may have gone by the name of “God”, “Allah”, “Yehweh” or perhaps another name.

We were taught that this all-encompassing spiritual Being was omnipotent, omniscient, all-being. We were also taught that this Being would judge us and possibly condemn us to Hell if we were not good. We were being watched carefully by this great deity and needed to follow the Ten Commandments or whatever scripture was sacred to our religion. His wrath was something to fear terribly.

There was rarely any discussion of the Sacred or Divine Feminine in our churches, or synagogues or temples. If there was any mention, they might have touched on the Virgin Mary in the Catholic Church. Or the concept of Sophia or Great Wisdom in the Jewish Tradition. But any sense of the existence of a powerful Divine Feminine presence in these Angry God religions was repressed. Any threads of Feminine strength were squelched centuries before by the powers that be within that organized religion.

Somehow, the balance was lost and the Sacred Feminine got buried. But She never died. She’s only been suppressed. She very much exists and many women are discovering Her.

She is calling to us to embrace Her again. She is calling to us to own our bodies and embrace our womb spaces as sacred centers of our being. She wants us to know that we can all heal. And we can all embrace Her to come back into balance with the masculine energies that have run too rampant on our planet.

It is not that She desires us to take control. She wants us to just come back into our own power, to wake up our dormant powers, and encourage the men in our lives to understand the need for balance.

If our awakening to Her brings out rage, or terror, or great sorrow, then She can be called on to hold us in our beds or wherever to help us release the pent up emotions. We can thrash about or lease the torrent and trust that Her powerful Love that can be present to all that we express. She is the greatest Compassion. She wants us to release these ancient feelings so that we can eventually come to forgive and step into Her sacred ways to help all us who are so wounded – men and women.

She is waiting. And She is part of all of us. The Great Mother is here and ready.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, nature mystic, empathic intuitive healer (with shamanic influences) and international speaker. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty years and is currently on hiatus from the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary behind the Great Mother Wisdom Gathering (Maryland, 2014). She loves to be involved in Ceremony. Mare is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Sacred Feminine, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More on the Sacred Feminine

  1. Towards the end of that peice, I could clearly see that you are still seeing through lens of rage. I suggest You proccess your feelings on this subject until you no longer have the need to share your hurt, then and only then will you write from a place of clearity and balance.
    True power comes from the supported feminine and masculine, I know you know this. However, if that rage is expressed at something other than a brick wall, then your part of the problem.
    May gentle blessings be upon you, along this path of healing.

  2. Hi Christopher – I’m smiling as I write this… I suppose if you sense rage in that piece then I would guess that the rage that you may sense in the earlier piece would be far greater.

    I honestly think that most women have a suppressed bit of rage within them about how women have been treated for hundreds of years. It is all of our work to heal this, yes. But it is also the work of men to allow women the equality and voice that we should have had all along.

    Men are wounded also by the patriarchal systems.

    But I don’t see myself as part of the problem by expressing that blog piece. I see myself as a women who is trying to encourage and support all women in our collective healing. It’s okay to express the pent up emotions. And we can be reminded that the Great Mother is taking care of us and Loving us and Holding us in our healing process.

    blessings,
    mare

  3. Most women don’t know where to let loose with their rage, and when they come across the writings of a other woman [you] and find connection in her words, they tend to follow it. So please suggest a healthy avenue, and not to just unload on the closest man. I tell you it’s not fun being at the business end of a disgruntled woman, especially when I didn’t do anything to desirve it. I know you mean well in your work. When I write, I’m very aware of the dak side of every topic that comes forth. However, I choose to remain in the Light. Keep up the good work. Blessings..

  4. Christopher,
    I’m a bit puzzled, if I understand your response correctly, that you think I’ve unloaded on you with my response.

    Communication can be so challenging, I suppose.

    All I wish you is Peace. And I wish for the entire world that men and women can come together in peace, and honor each other equally.

    Blessings,
    m

  5. I’m sorry Mare, it’s not you personally, it’s something that was said that pushed an emotional button. And I realize I have some emotional work of my own to do. Thank you for reflecting that which needs to be healed, and I’m deeply sorry for holding you to the fire unnecessarily.
    C

  6. Chris,
    I appreciate your honesty here, and your vulnerability that you are showing so openly. You are a teacher to me and others.

    Thank you for sharing and thank you for taking the time to write, and even read my posts. And I send you good energy for your healing. I am so much on this path myself. This dialogue here is part of a healing for me, truth be told.

    blessings and prayers to you, friend,
    m

  7. Pingback: Reflections on the Dark Feminine « For the Earth Blog

Leave a Reply

