Followup to International Women’s Day: Germany and Italy

International Women’s Day was yesterday, March 8th, 2012. And today there were some interesting headlines regarding women and how they are portrayed, and opportunities or the lack thereof in two different European countries: Italy and Germany.

 

These are both worth a read. The very good news is that things are shifting and more women are being offered positions of leadership though too slowly for some.

 

Italy’s women still wait for change under Mario Monti –

 

And in Germany, it was the men who work for the German tabloid Bild who made the decision to stop publishing nude women on the cover of the journal.

German tabloid Bild takes nude women off front page

 

In writing the above, I’m wondering how much of a feminist I am becoming? Or maybe this is a good thing that I’m noticing these pieces now and feeling the need to share?

 

Something within me feels that it is important to celebrate when national headlines address women’s rights and access to equality. Maybe I’ve just been a closet feminist all of this time and am finally feeling comfortable voicing it. I don’t want to be an angry feminist though. I’d like to be an articulate one. This is my hope.

 

I guess what I’m really wondering is why I did not want to touch this topic so much in the past? There is a time and a place for everything, I suppose.

 

The goal is balance… I know we will get there. I know…

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, nature mystic, empathic intuitive healer (with shamanic influences) and international speaker. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty years and is currently on hiatus from the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary behind the Great Mother Wisdom Gathering (Maryland, 2014). She loves to be involved in Ceremony. Mare is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Society Ills and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

