On the Perks of Being a Writer – Cristian Mihai

There are several writers whose blogs I’m subscribed to, including a prolific blogger named Cristian Mihai. Sometimes he sends out two blogs entries a day. I’m not exactly sure how he does it. So this afternoon, I opened up my email to read this one. And my first thought was: “Perfect. I need to be reminded of these perks since it has not felt like so many perks these days. More like money going out to pay the bills so I can write and get the book published.”  So I’m sharing this with you since I like the way that Cristian thinks. As a matter of fact, I like the way that most writers think, those quirky minds that are ever so entertaining. ;~)

“When I tell people I’m a writer they usually ask me how much I earn. I usually smile and say “enough.” I’ve been giving this answer even before I started earning money, when my stories were available for free on Wattpad.

“The thing is that being a writer, or any other kind of artist, also means that most probably you’ll never earn a lot of money. Million dollar advances are extremely rare. Besides, I’m quite sure that most artists aren’t in this for money.

“But what exactly do you earn if not money? Is there something else to being a writer?” .

Read more.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Perks of Being a Writer – Cristian Mihai

  1. Bill says:

    Being a farmer has some of the same perks, but I have to admit that being a writer sounds cooler. Maybe a farmer/writer? Hmmm…

  2. Mare Cromwell says:

    Bill, Wendell Berry is getting older. Someone should definitely step into his shoes somehow. ;~)

    I would not give up the farmer position though, until your writing really takes off. Being a writer is a good way to be poor (so far for me… but maybe this 2nd book will really take off. ;~)

    blessings, blessings…
    mare

Leave a Reply

