The Story Behind “Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother”

[excerpted from Mare’s e-newsletter, 10/17/12]

Dear Friends,

It is with great joy and excitement that I can finally announce the publication of my long-awaited second book. This book has been many years in the making with many starts and stops and long periods of confusion and doubt. Yet it is set to arrive back from the printer as of the third week of October and this is most amazing and wonderful.

But I must also confess that I am filled with great trepidation about how to talk about this book. Truth be told, this is not the book I thought I was writing for publication this year. There is another half-finished manuscript in a box in the house where I currently live outside of Frederick, Maryland. That book is focused on the Sacred Feminine and my healing journey into discovering my most intimate and powerful Sacred Feminine center. I was working quite hard on that all winter and spring of this year.

This book is called Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother. Within the book, a young woman named Sarah meets with Earth Mother in a Sacred Grove in the woods where Mother gives Sarah messages to share with the world.

And I, Mare, have been grappling with a paralyzing fear about how to promote this book since who the heck am I to be putting out a book that is supposedly messages from Earth Mother? The truth is I did not come up with these messages. These messages came from Spirit. The book was written in five weeks and as soon as I finished the manuscript, Spirit told me that I had to get the book published and out NOW.

Sigh. I need to explain further.

For years I had a gardening business in the Baltimore area. I called it Sacred Gardening since I had been studying with Native teachers for years and had come to appreciate the sacredness of the world around us and had learned how to apply Native wisdom and principles to my gardening work. Over time, I started to learn how to tune into the plants and communicate with them. They gave me messages, and hints and sometimes chastised me.

Plant communication is a very real skill and people such as Eliot Cowan and Pam Montgomery have written about it. One can find workshops on plant communication and how to tap the plant world for their healing spiritual powers in different parts of the continent and in Europe. Indigenous medicine people have been doing it for thousands and thousands of years all over the world. I occasionally lead workshops on Sacred Gardening to help others learn how to approach their gardening from a more sacred perspective based on Native American principles. But truthfully, I’ve felt hesitant to broadcast too much about these sensitivities that I’ve developed.

But this summer with a half-finished manuscript and grappling with a diagnosis of enlarged lymph nodes, I sought out a gifted woman in the Annapolis area named Diane Davis who practices Music-Evoked Healing (along with exploring other modalities of healing). During that session, my capacity for listening went beyond where it had ever gone before. While Diane played a recorded piece of ocean waves, I actually heard the dolphins and whales calling me. They wanted to communicate with me. I very clearly got the message that I needed to go to the beach to hear them.

Ten days later, I went to the wild beaches of Assateague and meditated and did ceremony for two days straight to listen for the messages. And the messages came. They came in the middle of the night when I was trying to fall asleep in my hotel room. First the dolphins spoke, then the whales and then Spirit. I could distinguish between them. I was told that I had to put my other book aside and this was the book that I needed to write and it was to be called Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother. I was even told what the topics of the messages would be and given one message in toto – Mother’s Message: “To My Daughters” right there in the middle of the night. I just furiously wrote all that I heard from Spirit on a pad of paper. I wrote pages and pages that night. I was even told to claim the domain http://messagesfrommother.org at four a.m. in the morning. I would rather have been sleeping, believe me.

By the time I returned to my home, I was quite exhausted. Not quite how most people spend their time at the beach, to be sure.

As soon as I returned, the writing just poured out. There were nights when I could not sleep since Spirit had me doing ceremony and essentially download what they wanted included in the book. The message on Mother’s “Thirteen Commandments” was written during one of these nights. Five weeks later the manuscript was complete—to my shock.

The Lakota talk about striving to be the hollow eagle bone so that Spirit can work through you so clearly that your ego doesn’t exist anymore. The vision is to surrender yourself to the point where you are only doing Spirit’s work. That is what this writing and book production has been for me. I just surrendered and kept on listening and writing. Let me assure you that this is not an easy process.

Am I hearing Earth Mother when I listen? Who am I to say that what I hear is actually Earth Mother. Perhaps it is her, for I definitely believe that she exists and is a powerful consciousness on the planet. The only thing I can accurately say that it is a voice from the spiritual realms. It is not my imagination. The messages have not come from some hidden creative corners of my conscious or subconscious. I know this. Certainly some of my environmental knowledge has been woven into the Messages. But the voice in the book is not how I normally write. And I’m not a fiction writer. I’m terrible at trying to write that genre.

So now it is time for this book to be birthed into the public sphere. It’s not my book. It’s Spirit’s book. And Spirit chose me as the woman to put all of these Messages out. I’m not sure why. They just chose me. I’m very humbled and yet not overly comfortable about it.

I know that there will be some who understand and are enlightened by the Messages. Many, I hope. Some of these beautiful people I’m discovering on FaceBook and on my blog already. These are the people who buoy me with the support, along with my friends who are very connected to Mother and Spirit. They get this book and the Messages. Many of these people are hearing messages too. They are getting guidance and wisdom from the natural/spiritual realms and some share these messages with me.

There will be others, including some family members, who will not get where this book is coming from. They will probably think I’m crazy or schizophrenic and that I’m hearing voices—which must be a sign of mental disorder, in their minds. Being Catholic does not encourage a person to believe in Earth Mother speaking to people. There are days when I wonder about my sanity but those days have nothing to do with this book and listening to Spirit.

So, yes, I am very excited to have completed this book. And I am terrified about it. But if nuns can share about hearing the Holy Spirit, and Neale Donald Walsch can write a series of books based on conversations with God, then I suppose I can put out a book called Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother.

Oh, and my enlarged lymph nodes are getting better every month. This whole healing adventure that has birthed this book continues to be a positive one.

In deep gratitude to Spirit and Earth Mother and all else who support me and remind me of the infinite Love that exists all the time, all around us.

With much, much love, and blessings, blessings,

– mare

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Animal Spirit Medicine, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Environmental Issues, fun, God, Sacred Feminine, Sacred Gardening Journal, Society Ills, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Story Behind “Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother”

  1. Smoky Zeidel says:

    Lovely, Mare, as are the words you speak in your book. You’re right–some people won’t understand. I get that from people in my Earth Mage work. But if they even so much as hear our messages, it has to affect them somehow, on some level, don’t you think?

  2. Yes, Smoky, I definitely agree with you. The good news, as I’m discovering, is that people are just intrigued enough with the title of my book to want to learn more. And that is a good thing. It’s all about reconnecting with the Sacredness of the Earth. And possibly even opening up to the concept of Earth Mother even existing. All good… ;~) love to you, sister-friend! mare

  3. Smoky Zeidel says:

    And love & hugs back! This is probably not the right place to mention this, but I didn’t realize you were from Frederick! I have a long family lineage from there; my mother’s side of the family had a long line of Church of the Brethren pastors, including her oldest brother and my grandfather, who pastored the church there. At one time, I knew Frederick pretty well.

  4. Smoky –
    That’s so interesting, ever the overlapping circles of serendipity there. hugs! mare

Leave a Reply

