ON STRESS – Some Tips (& Trying to Send the Monkey-Mind to Use a Tent Outside)

[An email from a friend:]

ON STRESS
A young lady walked around the room while leading and explaining stress management to an audience; with a raised glass of water, and everyone knew she was going to ask the ultimate question, ‘half empty or half full?’… she fooled them all … “How heavy is this glass of water?”, she inquired with a smile.

Answers called out ranged from 8 oz. to 20 oz. She replied, The absolute weight doesn’t matter. It depends on how long I hold it. If I hold it for a minute, that’s not a problem. If I hold it for an hour, I will have an ache in my right arm. If I hold it for a day, you’ll have to call an ambulance. In each case it’s the same weight, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it becomes.”

She continued, “And that’s the way it is with stress. If we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later, as the burden becomes increasingly heavy, we won’t be able to carry on. As with the glass of water, you have to put it down for a while and rest before holding it again. When we’re refreshed, we can carry on with the burden – holding stress longer and better each time practiced.”

So, as early in the evening as you can put all your burdens down. Don’t carry them through the evening and into the night…. pick them up tomorrow.Whatever burdens you’re carrying now, put them down for a moment. Relax, pick them up later after you’ve rested. Life is short.

1 * Accept the fact that some days you’re the pigeon, and some days you’re the statute!
2 * Always keep your words soft and sweet, just in case you have to eat them.
3 * Always read stuff that makes you  feel good..
4 * Drive carefully… It’s not only cars that can be recalled by their Maker..
5 * If you can’t be kind, at least have the decency to be vague
6 * If you lend someone $20 and never see that person again, it was probably worth it..
7 * It may be that your sole purpose in life is to simply to serve as a warning to others.
8 * Never buy a car you can’t push.
9 * Never put both feet in your mouth at the same time, because then you won’t have a leg to stand on.
10 * Nobody cares if you can’t dance well. – Just get up and dance..

11 * Since it’s the early worm that gets eaten by the bird, sleep late..
12 * The second mouse gets the cheese.

13 * When everything’s coming your way, you’re in the wrong lane.
14 * Birthdays are good for you. The more you have, the longer you live.
15 * You may not be only one person in the world, but you may also be the world to one person.
16 * Some mistakes are too much fun to make only once.
17 * We could learn a lot from crayons. Some are sharp, some are pretty and some are dull. Some have weird names and all are different colors, but they all have to live in the same box.
18 * A truly happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery on a detour.
19 * Have an awesome day and know that someone thought about you today.
20 * It was me, your friend!

Live your life in truth
Work like you don’t need the money
Love like you’ve never been hurt
And dance like nobody is watching.

—-

So I just received this in my inbox. And as I was reading it, it struck me that, as a writer, writing at home and doing this day after day, there is no away other than outside in the woods. Part of me really thinks I need to move out of my house to leave my computer and writing work here and I’ll just live in a tent nearby. I can’t afford another place to rent. But I can afford a tent. I’ll escape to the quiet of the tent and rustling of nature outside and curl up far away from the inbox and impending book deadline work.

But it’s a bit too hilly outside this house for me to set up a tent. And the neighbors might not be too comfortable with a tent in the front yard where the property is flattest. Plus needing to pee in the middle of the night would be a pain, especially on a very cold night.

So, I’ve determined that it’s really my monkey-mind stirring up the burdens causing me stress that needs to go out and live in a tent. When I’ve had enough of all the chatter that’s causing me aggro and wearing me down from my darned monkey-mind, it needs to go out there to camp out.

A monkey-mind tent that is set up outside the house! Perfect! It will be small and fit under the bushes. The neighbors would never notice. Now to get the monkey-mind to listen to me and go use it. Therein lies the challenge.

;~)

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, nature mystic, empathic intuitive healer (with shamanic influences) and international speaker. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty years and is currently on hiatus from the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary behind the Great Mother Wisdom Gathering (Maryland, 2014). She loves to be involved in Ceremony. Mare is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in fun, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

