Memo from Child to Parents

MemoFromChild

I have held onto this dog-eared sheet of good wisdom for years. I am not a parent but have watched good friends and family members raise their children and know that it is one of the toughest jobs out there. I salute all parents and all with the courage and love and compassion to be parents who follow these types of guidelines.

With love… Mare

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
Image | This entry was posted in spirituality, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Memo from Child to Parents

  1. Reblogged this on Teacher as Transformer and commented:
    This was appeared the other day in my reader. Similar to yesterday’s re-blog, it made sense when I read it. Children look to us, in our various adult roles, to guide them and help them find their path. Rest our hands gently on their shoulder as they walk their path.

  2. I just shared this on Facebook. It’s so wise.

  3. Ivon,
    I’m so grateful that you shared this with others. I don’t have children and yet certainly was a child and can speak to the shadow aspects of my parents that left me some wounds. It is all certainly grist for the mill as we travel through life and seek love and contentment. Yes… “Rest our hands gently on their shoulder as they walk their path.” A beautiful way of putting it.
    Blessings,
    Mare

  4. Margarita says:

    As a child, I vowed to remember how that felt so that I wouldn’t inflict the same pain on my children, should I ever have them. I did my best as a parent (as all parents do, whether we agree with them at the time, or even later, or not). Your list of reminders would have come in handy! xoxoM

  5. Thank you, Margarita.
    I did not write this list, have only shared it. May it be shared widely though so all parents can take in the wisdom.
    blessings, blessings,
    mare

  6. Margarita says:

    Thank you for sharing! xoM

  7. gigoid says:

    As a parent of two adults, one of each species, male and female, I can tell you from experience, this is an excellent memo, and manages to cover a good half of what parents shouldn’t do.. i.e., there are more “Don’t’s” In fact, I’m still finding more of them, as they are part of what we have to learn as we go along…. Thanks for sharing this; there is no official manual for parenting, so all documentation of good techniques is valuable…. 🙂

  8. You are so welcome! This sheet has sat in my office for years and I’m so grateful that I finally scanned it in and posted it on the blog. Thank you to Ivon for sharing more widely also… Clearly this Memo is striking a nerve with a great deal of people, sound wisdom that it is.
    Blessings, blessings,
    Mare

  9. You are most welcome Mare. As a parent, we see much of the error of our ways in retrospect and our children are grateful. Each of our sons has told us how upset they were when we made decisions. Now, they understand and I understand differently. It is learning and being in relationship through the good and tough times. Thank you for a wonderful comment.

  10. Ivon, I’ve been meaning to get back to you. Your list must be extremely active as my blog has never gotten this many ‘likes’ in such a short period of time. Thank you for sharing and being the wise presence whom you are here in the blogosphere. Blessings, blessings, and in deep gratitude. Mare

Leave a Reply

