Follow the Blue Crab Example – When Molting, Seek Very Safe (Loving) Environs. Follow the Hopi Elders Message…

There are times when we just feel so tested. I have been going through one of those times recently (and I gather I’m not alone). This past week was a real doozy and it has occurred to me that perhaps hiding in my bed is the best strategy. But that’s not much of a way to live life. And I’ve done too much emotional/spiritual work to seek that escape option again.

So perhaps just staying in my house and working on projects from here is a smart way to go. Not hide in the bed. Just look longingly at it as I walk by my bedroom to use the bathroom and then go back to the computer or other paperwork. 

I got a very distinct personal message from Mother on Thursday after a particularly not-fun incident with another person that really struck me to the core. The message was that I am “molting,” shedding old parts of me to step into the “New Mare.” And this is akin to when blue crabs are shedding their old exoskeletons and when they do this, as the old outer casing of their body is pushed off, they are extremely vulnerable and easy prey.

Crabs seek out the underwater sea grasses to hide in when they are “molting.” Their new exoskeleton is very soft and this is when we harvest them as “soft-shell crabs.” And they are good eating for a number of other creatures in the bay, if they can be found hiding in the seagrasses. They have to take a day or more to allow their bodies to absorb the calcium in their watery environs to harden up their shells again.

Mother was essentially encouraging me to realize that I’m molting and needed to stay in protective waters/territory, aka, at home or in more loving company at least. I was too porous, too thin-skinned that particular day (all week) to be out and about.

I kinda got royally eaten in this incident. Or so it felt to me. I’m certain the person who inflicted this on me only thought he was being honest and direct. And he was probably having a very tough day or week, as many of us were, and was frustrated about 100 things. And I received the emotional dump. Kind of like a Perfect Storm, I got dumped on and my exoskeleton was so soft and porous that I was devastated by his words. I shortly left the meeting in tears. I was supposed to give a presentation even, and left before the meeting fully started.

It has been good grist for the mill, this experience. The Hopi say to not take anything personally at this time. It’s tough sometimes to not take anything personally. See “Hopi Elders Message” below.

It was the best thing for me to leave that meeting at that moment. I had been crying all during the drive to the meeting about some other personal stuff in my life. And what this man had to say to me had some truth to it. I needed to receive that feedback to learn how others perceive me and some of my oddities/sensitivities that I express too openly, especially when I’m under so much stress.

Thank you, Mother, for the reminder to be gentle with myself. Thank you, Hopi, for the powerful guidance during these dangerous and interesting times.

~~~
Message from the Hopi Elders

You have been telling the people that this is the Eleventh Hour.
Now you must go back and tell people that THIS is the hour.

And there are things to be considered:
Where are you living?
What are you doing?
What are your relationships?
Are you in right relation?
Where is your water?
Know your garden.

It is time to speak your truth.
Create your community.
Be good to each other.
And do not look outside yourself for the leader.
This could be a good time!

There is a river flowing now very fast.
It is so great and swift that there are those who will be afraid.
They will try to hold onto the shore.
They will feel they are being torn apart, and they will suffer greatly.
Know the river has its destination.

The elders say we must let go of the shore,
Push off into the river.
Keep our eyes open,
And our heads above the water.
See who is in there with you and celebrate.

At this time in history, we are to take nothing personally,
Least of all ourselves.
For the moment that we do, our spiritual growth and journey
Comes to a halt.

The time of the lone wolf is over. Gather yourselves!
Banish the word struggle from your attitude and vocabulary.
All that we do now must be done in a sacred manner and in celebration.
We are the One’s we’ve been waiting for.

 

The Elders
Oraibi, Arizona
Hopi Nation

 

 

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, nature mystic, empathic intuitive healer (with shamanic influences) and international speaker. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty years and is currently on hiatus from the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary behind the Great Mother Wisdom Gathering (Maryland, 2014). She loves to be involved in Ceremony. Mare is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Follow the Blue Crab Example – When Molting, Seek Very Safe (Loving) Environs. Follow the Hopi Elders Message…

  1. Jane says:

    HI,
    This was extremely timely for many including me who had a week. Mind if I reblog this?

  2. Jane… please feel free… am honored that you’d want to reblog it… blessings, blessings, m

  3. Jane says:

    Reblogged this on There is no bang! and commented:
    Many people I know had ” a week.’ I thought this was a fantastic log and I loves the Hopi Elders. Mare writes some really great stuff.

Leave a Reply

