On the Great Mother, Book Promotion and Horse Rescue Operations…

In my travels in and about book promotion and workshops, I meet many people.  I’m never certain how some people will respond to my work as my books can trigger people. Some folks are pulled in to my book table as if there is a magnet under it and they usually don’t want to leave me. Others give me wide berth since I suspect they think I want to convert them or evangelize them. And some are just kinda curious, look for a moment or two and keep on going.

Yesterday was a rather amazing day in the book promotion world. I had a table at the Mother Earth Harvest Moon Fair at Spoutwood Farm. Next to me on one side was a bee keeper. On the other side was a woman spinning wool and selling home-made knitted objects. The atmosphere of the whole event was wholesome and organic and just plain fun. A perfect place for me with all of my “Earth Mother” spiritual stuff.

On Saturday, the day before, I had led one of my workshops on how to cultivate a more Sacred Relationship with Earth Mother. It was, coincidentally, in the very same place where my vendor table was on Sunday. There was a lovely birch tree (I think birch) that I tucked my table close to… a tree that I had befriended the day before. (Yes, you can befriend trees. As a plant intuitive, I can assure you this happens.)

And I can’t really explain what was happening at my table yesterday. All I know is that some people came up and saw the Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother book and started to talk with me about how much they loved to be in “Nature” and they’d just start crying. It happened a number of times. I would hug them and tell them that they must be feeling the Love of the Great Mother around the book and around me. I’m not sure.

I’m starting to believe there is some spiritual energy I’m carrying these days with all of this work being so closely connected with the Sacred Earth and Great Mother energy… Perhaps I’m becoming some sort of conduit of Great Mother Love. Something is going on here. I honestly don’t know. But people tell me they feel it and I can feel it at times, some energy moving through me. My heart chakra wide open… I just don’t know. It’s all a trip and very humbling.

At the end of the day yesterday at the Mother Earth Harvest Moon Fair, a woman came up to my table in a somewhat confident and yet questioning way. After looking over my two books and the flyer about having a more Sacred relationship with Earth Mother, she asked me in a point blank way about the Sacred Mother Earth workshop and what that meant for someone who considers themselves “Christian.”

I braced myself. She seemed like a nice woman, but I was not sure. She seemed to be asking from a place of sincere curiosity, and not in any way condescending. Yet I was not certain. I was really tired after a long day of book promo and not a full night of sleep the night before and didn’t think I had the energy to deal with someone who was going to be a Fundamentalist Christian. I feared that I’d be in for some tough interrogation and demeaning arrogance — since I had experienced it so many times before in promoting my first book – If I gave you God’s phone number…. Searching for Spirituality in America.  So many Christians verbally attacked me with my 1st book, and I had not been spiritually mature enough then to learn how to just listen and not get triggered most of the time.  (Not that I’m so spiritually mature now. Just not as angry and reactionary about the Christian arrogance as I used to be.)

So I took a deep breath, and gently tried to explain to the woman about the Great Mother and how She exists in all religions and is a major aspect of indigenous spiritual beliefs. And that the Virgin Mary in Catholicism is the Great Mother, etc. I did not go into huge detail since I needed to see how she might respond to this idea of the Great Mother first.

I watched her arms tightly crossed over her chest loosen up and her face soften some. Then then I shared about about the Divinity is within all. Or you could call it the Great Mystery or God. And the Earth is Sacred… And how many Christian churches are working to bring about a greater awareness of “Stewarding” Creation. And this is what my workshops are about. Bringing the Sacredness back in our world view. It’s always been Sacred. We’ve just forgotten this truth.

Then I quietly shared that, yes, it would be nice if all denominations believe in the Earth as Earth Mother.

And she listened.

Kelly Young with one of her horses - from www.omegahorserescue.com

Kelly Smith with one of her horses – from http://www.omegahorserescue.com

And the next thing you know, we’re talking about her work as the director of an equine rescue operation called Omega Horse Rescue and Rehabilitation Center. She rescues horses, some very emaciated and sick. And she’s inviting me to come up to her farm for a farm blessing. And telling me that there are times she just wants to give up since it’s so hard to keep raising money and going to these very energetically dark places where horses go to be slaughtered. These are god-awful places that might as well be the Auschwitz of the horse world. Kill barns — they are called. The people who bring the horses there to be killed are not very nice people, generally.

By the time we part ways, Kelly Smith and I are hugging each other and I’m blown away. What a courageous beautiful woman she is.

Check out her website… send her $5 or $25 or whatever. At the very least, send her prayers that more funders come her way. What an amazing woman and operation.

The best I can do is thank the Great Mother for bringing us together. And for giving Kelly Smith the strength to do what she does. I don’t think I could go in and see all of these horses in such deplorable condition week after week. I’m not sure I’m that strong.

I know I’m still stunned by all the various interactions I had with some beautiful people at Spoutwood Farm the past two days. I wish that all of my book events could be next to a very friendly birch tree in a Sacred open space where such great Love is extended to the land. Rob and Lucy Wood have an organic farm operation (CSA), run the Fairy Festival there in May, and a variety of other events that promote wholeness and reverence for the land. It’s magical and beautiful.

And I’m hoping to return again next year. Thank you, Rob and Lucy. Thank you, Spoutwood.

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, nature mystic, empathic intuitive healer (with shamanic influences) and international speaker. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty years and is currently on hiatus from the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary behind the Great Mother Wisdom Gathering (Maryland, 2014). She loves to be involved in Ceremony. Mare is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Divine Feminine, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Great Father, Great Mother, nature, Photography, Religion, Sacred Feminine, Society Ills, spirituality, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Great Mother, Book Promotion and Horse Rescue Operations…

  1. B'Lynn says:

    I know Kelly and have a mammoth mule – Leona – pulled from one of those kill buyers, thanks to her. It’s a blessing you 2 met. There are no accidents. Loved reading your blog 🙂

  2. Hi,
    Kelly is absolutely amazing and I hope that I can make it to her farm… What a huge heart she has. Absolutely huge heart and courage. And Leona is so blessed to have you as her new home and momma too. Thanks for swinging by… blessings, blessings, mare

Leave a Reply

