Wisdom from a Lost Age – Now Time to Regain It…

Foggy morning, on West Fork Trail, by Fairmont, WV. (c) Tim Dicke

Foggy morning, on West Fork Trail, by Fairmont, WV. (c) Tim Dicke

I woke up this morning and while sitting at my altar doing some prayers and stilling of my overactive mind, I was called to reach out and open up the copy of Riane Eisler’s best-selling book from the ’80’s, The Chalice and the Blade. It’s been sitting by my beds for months. I started the book about 18 months ago but put it aside as I got swept away into the Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother adventures. This morning I opened it up to find this passage at the beginning of a chapter entitled Memories of a Lost Age: The Legacy of the Goddess:

The fall of the Roman Empire, the Dark Ages, the Plague, World Wars I and II—all other times of seeming chaos we know of are dwarfed by comparison with what happened at a time about which we have until now known so little: the evolutionary crossroads in our prehistory when human society was violently transformed. Now, thousands of years later, when we are nearing the possibility of a second societal transformation—this time a shift from a dominator society to a more advanced version of a partnership society—we need to understand every thing we can about this astonishing piece of our past. For at stake at this second evolutionary crossroads, when we possess the technologies of total destruction once attributed only to God, may be nothing less than the survival of our species …  

p. 59, The Chalice & the Blade, by Riane Eisler.

What keeps on resonating in my mind is the Hopi Elders Message. “We are the ones we’ve been waiting for… Now is the time…”

But I’m tired of all the fear about this age we now live in. I’m looking forward to finally reading Riane Eisler’s book, but the message of fear is strong there (at least in this excerpt). This type of apocalyptic fear been sapping my energy and is not very motivating for truly being the change agents that we all have the potential to be. Today. In this moment. (And isn’t that all we ever have? Just the moment?)

I know, deep in my heart, that each of us has the potential to heal this world. Each of us has the potential to forgive a little more, love a little more, let go of old emotional woundedness. AND we have the potential to reach out to a neighbor to support them more. Or plant more organic gardens in our front yards, share fresh veggies with a neighbor, offer kindness where there is pain, drive less, plant trees more. The list goes on and on.

“We are the ones we’ve been waiting for…” and griping and frittering our time on Twitter and Facebook (not all of it is frittering, but some… yes) is not serving in helping us heal this beleaguered world.

Know that I’m writing this to myself, in truth. My frittering is not serving. All the doubts, insecurities, guilt, and other shadow stuff that has been so prominent in my thinking — that has held me back from truly waking up each morning feeling love in my heart and also in my belly (the sacred center of my being) — they are starting to waft away. Finally. They surface and I catch them quickly and just let the thoughts pass to one of a greater stillness and inner love.

I suppose this is what people who meditate have been doing for eons. I’m lousy at meditating… so far. Seems to be getting easier for me these days though.

Recently I’ve actually been learning how to work more with my empathic abilities and quickly discern what is mine and not mine. And instantly letting go of emotional ‘information’ that is not mine. It is astounding how liberating this is. I’m finally realizing how much I’ve been living under a cloud of guilt and shame, feeling guilty for all the emotional suffering around me, as if I’m supposed to make the entire world happy and heal everyone. (Old childhood and past-life stuff!)

And, I’ve been tuning into the Christ Consciousness. I don’t really know what I’m doing but I’ve been smudging a lovely mother of pearl carved medallion/pendant with Christ’s head carved into it. Then I’ve been holding this in the palm of my hand and just allowing whatever Divine energy wishes to come in, to bless me. And I can assure you, there is a spiritual shift within me. Rather humbling… rather deeply calming and spiritually wise energies seem to come in.

This medallion is from my elderly friend, Katherine Carter, who passed in June at 101. My beloved Katherine.

Katherine was an agent of change and Love. She knew how to live lightly on the land and grow her own vegetables and glean from farmer stands all the foods that could not be sold but could be canned. She grew up on a farm in South Carolina in the 1910’s and learned these wise ways.

When I think of legacies and sourcing ancient wisdom, I do think of the Goddess. I think of the times when things were in balance and aggression was not a way of thinking. And women could practice their spiritual arts with the Great Mother. And men had their spiritual practices too that were balanced and healing.

And I think of Katherine Carter and this mother of pearl image of Christ that is now sitting in my pocket, warming my heart and sacred center. It’s not that I’m about to go back to becoming a Catholic with this piece in my pocket. It’s that I, too, am seeking the balance spiritually, within and without, of the Great Father and Great Mother.

I’d like to source from this inner wise balance with all that I do, in writing, in speaking, in playing in the garden, and… in my morning prayers.

Maybe I’m the one I’ve been waiting for… all of this time.    ;~)  (Love you, Katherine… missing you…)

Big Love to all,

mare

 

 

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Divine Feminine, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Environmental Issues, gardening, God, Great Father, Great Mother, nature, Religion, Sacred Feminine, Society Ills, spirituality, Timothy Dicke, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

