The Primitive – poem by Jack Kolkmeyer

[This poem graced my home page on Facebook in a flurry of other busy messages from a myriad of people. I immediately read it and just took a deep breath and knew this was a poem (and poet) of deep wisdom. I asked permission to share it here… May it inspire you to take a deep breath too, and settle deep down in that wise place of your personal and beautiful primitive.]

The Primitive

take me back to the primitive
one stone at a time
root by root
myth by myth

take me back to the primitive
to a time of fire and rocks and water
to the birth of hot
and strength and clarity

teach me to enkindle
and speak like a bird
and sit still for an era
like a boulder

throw me to hunt and gather
my needs and desires

lift me up to the superlative
to the rhyme of a mother tongue
to the love for a fatherland
to the hope of a prodigal son
and to the need for an honorable daughter

to the death of everything I forgot

teach me how to rekindle
the warmth of an old word
and to listen to a culture
that I shoulder
and to act and be blunt

about heart and soul fires

I want to go forward to a new
primitive time
of flesh and bone
of frankincense and myrrh

I want to get down on my knees
to mud
and mortality and dirt

I want to go back to the primitive
to make fire
to aspire
to get down

take me back to the primitive
fire by fire
stone by stone
root by root

take me back
to the tone age
back to the mythic
ensconced in the lithic

take me back to the primitive
one stone at a time
root by root
myth by myth

Santa Fe

Jack Kolkmeyer

IMG_0044

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, nature mystic, empathic intuitive healer (with shamanic influences) and international speaker. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty years and is currently on hiatus from the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary behind the Great Mother Wisdom Gathering (Maryland, 2014). She loves to be involved in Ceremony. Mare is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Primitive – poem by Jack Kolkmeyer

  1. You are very welcome… You can truly thank Jack… xoxox

Leave a Reply

