Notes from An Earth Mother Zealot

It has occurred to me recently that I may be guilty of proselytizing.

A good friend stated that I was starting a new religion as I was finishing Messages from Mother…. Earth Mother, in the late summer of 2012.

That was the furthest from my mind. I was just getting these spiritual messages from Earth Mother (as several gifted native elders have confirmed) and being told by Mother to put them out there. It was all rather terrifying what was happening to me at the time but I complied. Then Mother wanted me to write The Great Mother Bible. The latter book has taken the messages far deeper.

It is true that I am trying to wake up a global population that, for the most part, does not recognize the inherent spirituality of our Earth. At least I am not alone in this herculean task.

It’s not just that everything on Earth is sacred since it is part of God’s Creation, as many religious institutions teach it. Our Earth has her own consciousness. Earth Mother or Pachamama actually exists as a spiritual being assigned to our planet.

So many Christian churches encourage “Earth Care” or “Stewarding Creation” but they can’t open up to the awareness that this Earth is not just a planet that we survive on. They perceive a call to steward Earth from the lens of recognizing earth as part of God’s creation.

Yes, Earth Mother is part of God’s creation as we are, along with Jesus Christ, the archangels and all else in the spiritual and physical realms of the universe. AND, she is a spiritual being who actually existed long before our planet was created and will exist long after the planet goes the way of ancient planets.

I guess one could find me guilty of a spiritual agenda that borders on being religious. Perhaps even a zealot. Though hardly a fundamentalist, I hope.

Yet I have no intention to create a new religion. I just want people to remember again what our ancestors very far back used to know. This knowledge is still in our DNA. It just needs to be woken up again and brought back into our full awareness for our and the planet’s well-being.

I make a distinction between being religious and being spiritual. When I think about religious institutions, my sense is they tend to become hierarchical over time and entrenched in dogma. And the original teacher’s wisdom within each religion is at risk of being corrupted and used by political structures for their own purposes. We have witnessed this in the fundamentalist groups.

Being spiritual is to cultivate our own individual relationship with the divine in a way that brings us closer and closer to knowing our inner sacred self, and living from that god/goddess space within us, to see the highest good. To have the highest frequency, as some might put it.

My hope, my vision, is that all will come to hear Earth Mother over time, as I have been able to. And if they can’t hear her directly, then they honor her and send her love. Many are hearing her already. This thrills me and thrills Mother even more.

Plus, churches are structured so that you need to go inside to find the sacred. When it comes to Earth Mother and revering her, it’s about being outside where the wilder things are, even if that means a city park. Or a street tree in your urban neighborhood. It’s about finding comfort in her, connecting to her and the glorious life on her beyond the human realms.

This is actually an ancient way of being, to honor the Mother, the Goddess. Very ancient. As a matter of fact, humans practiced spiritual ways honoring the Mother far longer than any other belief system. The Abrahamic traditions are far more recent and their history in no way matches the thousands and thousands of years of early Goddess practices.

This does not stop me from having dreams where I climb to the top of skyscrapers and yell out into the horizon that “Gaia is alive!” I had such a dream last week and woke up from it with a huge sense of frustration that people were not getting it yet. No one heard me in that dream. And the majority of people walking on the planet continue to not believe in her, can’t acknowledge her, and continue to mindlessly live lifestyles that are destructive to her.

So I continue to slog forward with book promotion. With organizing workshops and events, and even an upcoming online course, feeling as if I am climbing a sheer rock mountain that has me slipping down as much as I climb upward.

What gives me hope is knowing that I am not alone in this effort to bring Earth Mother back into the world’s awareness. I keep on discovering writers, healers, intuitives and more who know that she is here. And she is not just a planet. Some of these are close friends and others are in the ever-widening community of Earth Mother crusaders.

Yet it is still tough. It’s tough when I reach out to some radio show hosts or very progressive churches (Unity and Unitarian) that I thought might be open to some message related to Earth Mother or the Sacred Feminine, and the door is slammed shut. Or when I reach out to a fellow spiritual author to offer to exchange books and there is only silence.

Perhaps I am seen as attempting to proselytize? Maybe I’m being judged as too much of an Earth Mother zealot? Or Great Mother zealot? Or Divine Feminine zealot?

And if that is the case then so be it.

I contend that the only way our human society is going to survive the coming decades of bumpiness as the old ways crumble, is by coming back into sacred relationship with our Earth. And this means sacred relationship with our Planetary Caretaker, Earth Mother.

We are all being called to wake up to our Earth’s sacredness and the inherent wisdom within each tree, each stone, each animal. The inherent sacredness and great intelligence of all that surrounds us that is not only human. We are being called to wake up with our hearts and fall back in to Love with this grand sensuous planet that is so yearning for us to come home to her.

This New World coming in will be one that honors Earth Mother and all of our relations in the vast web of life. Our choice is to wake up to this or keep on staying in the dark. This New World is coming regardless. To resist opening up our minds and hearts to our sacred planet is only going to make the transition bumpier.

So my invitation to you is to join me in being an Earth Evangelist, if that is what it takes. I’d love to have far more company in this adventure.

But don’t look for me to be building any churches, or renting any vacant store space to set up a place of worship for Earth Mother. Come find me in the mountains or local forests. Or, better yet, find Earth Mother there and not me. Or find her in your yard. Or even energetically radiating her love to you from your home. For everything that surrounds us has come from Mother, originally.

Sending hugs, and bigLove to all,

Mare

Ps. I do very much believe in the Great Father too… He has just gotten so much airtime over the past several thousand years that it’s time for Mother to get some too. This is my path to serve her.

Mare futurenow

About Mare Cromwell

Referred to as “The Voice of Earth Mother” by a gifted Shoshone elder, Mare Cromwell is a multi-award-winning author, Medicine woman/Lightworker and healer. She has also been told by another gifted elder that her work with Earth Mother is in the prophecies. Her books include: "The Great Mother Bible"; "Messages from Mother.... Earth Mother"; and "If I gave you God’s phone number.... Searching for Spirituality in America". She has studied with Native American teachers for twenty-one years and sat on the World Council for Wisdom Gatherings for three years. Mare leads workshops on our Sacred Planet-Earth Mother, Womb Wisdom and Sacred Silliness and more. She is the visionary and producer of the 1000 Goddesses Gathering in Washington DC. Mare loves to be involved in Ceremony. She is also a former worm herder. She calls Western Maryland home. www.marecromwell.com
This entry was posted in author, book, Christ Consciousness, Earth Mother, earth spirituality, Environmental Issues, Gaia, God, Great Mother, Mare Cromwell, Messages from Mother, mystic, nature, Pachamama, Religion, Sacred Feminine, Society Ills, spirituality, The Great Mother Bible, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Notes from An Earth Mother Zealot

  1. Reblogged this on Messages from Mother (TM) and commented:

    Some reflections on being an Earth Mother Zealot penned yesterday morning… hugs, bigLove to all, mare

  2. Megan says:

    Hi Mare,
    I stumbled across your blog today, and feel moved to let you know that you are not alone. I support you and stand with you in your (and our) work. The most beautiful work in my life is about bringing the Divine feminine back into every corner of modern life, helping people rediscover that all of life is connected and sacred, and helping people learn to live with reverence in service to Gaia and to all of life.

    If you were looking for evidence that this work is occurring everywhere, even the most unlikely places, I will offer this. I live in Houston, Texas. I recently retired from a 15 year career in the oil and gas industry. There is a vibrant and alive community of people here working in service of wholeness, reverence, LIFE. People continue to surprise and delight me. And yes, often it is hard. This work is hard. And also beautiful. Thank you for your contribution, and for this lovely website.

    Megan

  3. Megan, thank you so much for your beautiful comment. It has been a test doing this work and putting these books out that are channeled with Earth Mother. I honor you for your great love and service to Mother… May all wake up to her and our sacred relationship with her. xoxox Mare

  4. Hi Megan, if you’d like to share my link and books with your community there in Houston, I know that Mother would love her messages and wisdom to reach many in your part of the nation. http://www.marecromwell.com xoxoxo Mare

Leave a Reply

